Animal care and gardening in the lovely Scottish Borders, Scotland.

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 783 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    72  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.06.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *With Covid continuing to cause global concern, we are sad to say that we will limit our Workaway opportunities to UK residents only. We hope to welcome our travelling friends again soon, take care and stay safe everyone.*

    Hi and thank you for looking at our profile.

    Mark & Owen and their sons have been developing a Bird Garden zoo for endangered birds in the lovely Scottish Borders.

    We currently work with about four hundred birds. With the help of wonderful volunteers we have planted thousands of trees to protect and provide food for the birds. We have built enclosures to house them and to provide them with places to lay their precious eggs. We have built a Baby Barn where we hand-rear all the chicks.

    There are many different and exciting projects happening here at any one time. We would love two friends or a couple to help to care for the birds and the gardens. In particular, we would love to welcome people who know vegetables and woodwork. We have a large veg-garden and it needs some love. Whilst this is a passion for us, we have no time to dedicate the love it needs to produce a good harvest.

    Throughout the grounds there are so many interesting projects. This summer we will be building enclosures for rescued-parrots, owls and Northern bald ibis all of which are endangered and rare.

    The day structure is quite routine: we start with the babies, feeding and cleaning them. Then we prepare the food for wading birds, emus and rhea. Then we feed everything, give clean water and clean houses. After a group-lunch we do projects: building things, gardening, tidying - every afternoon is different!

    We encourage volunteers to take Saturday and Sunday as days off. Most of our volunteers go exploring Scotland, relaxing in the beautiful countryside or get involved with Edinburgh's wonderful culture and history.

    Mark speaks German, French, Greek and Spanish. If you are travelling to improve your English then Mark will be able to help you.

    This is a welcoming place with no prejudice: we welcome all.

    If you would like to be a part of this adventure with the opportunity to work with some awesome birds then please get in touch.

    Thank you for reading!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a great opportunity to live amongst a variety of wonderful birds and animals.
    The village is very friendly.
    There are regular buses to Edinburgh with all the shopping, culture and history you could wish for! The same buses go south, further into the Borders where there are old towns and villages to explore.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have just built a large vegetable garden with a polytunnel and orchards. There is lots to do in the vegetable garden and throughout the grounds. There are opportunities for construction of pens, fences and aviaries.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Greek: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    This is an ideal volunteer position for a couple or two friends travelling together, we have a cabin which stands away from the house so you will have your own privacy and space. It has internet, water and electricity.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a pretty village with many lovely walks through rolling Scottish Borders countryside. There is a regular bus service which can take you further down into the Scottish Borders where there are fascinating towns and villages which are incredibly rich in culture and are historically important. And of course a good bus service direct to Edinburgh city centre.

    Mark and I are open to all cultures, religions, gender, sexuality etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have ample room for campervans, and somewhere to properly empty septic waste and a nearby tap with drinking water.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have accommodated people and pets before. It is paramount to have in mind that this is the birds' home. Their health and wellbeing takes uttermost priority above anybody's pet.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)















































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 368619246757