Help us at a beautiful restored traditional farmhouse in the very scenic, hilly countryside of Almeria, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 85 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.05.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We offer a nice self contained flat attached to our farmhouse in the scenic hilly countryside of Almeria province. Ideally we would like longer stay help of months ( maybe someone working remotely who prefers to live in a nice place) with horses/ garden/ land but have plenty of projects for a someone wanting to stay only a couple of weeks.
    We are an English couple in our 60s and our household consists of ourselves, several cats, a large Spanish sheepdog and currently 4 horses. I am planning to get chickens very soon. We have retired from living mainly in the ME to a restored traditional farmhouse with about 2 hectares of land. The area is dry farmland with olives, almonds and goats grazing the surrounding hills. We have a number of olive and almond trees, and are gradually planting more. We also have a sizeable garden which needs to be reorganized and made more water efficient.
    The most essential is some help in gardening and caring for the horses – experience not necessary, but possible opportunity to ride out for someone competent. Other jobs vary with need and the seasons – horse care is year round but more in the winter, gardening is more spring and summer. We don’t use chemicals so there is always weeding. Jobs we would welcome help with include, for example, harvesting/ pruning olives and almonds in season, planting and watering young trees, maintaining fencing, strimming , small building projects ( opportunity to learn some carpentry / construction skills if you are interested) and maybe some painting ( the traditionally built houses here need constant upkeep). If you prefer cooking ( vegetarian) or cleaning that would also be useful.
    Sadly our Spanish still is limited - a Spanish speaker who could help with communication with neighbours ( or have the patience to help me practice) would be extra welcome, though there are plenty of opportunities to study locally for someone who also wants to learn / improve their own Spanish.
    We are in a very quiet situation, about two kilometers from the nearest village, so it would suit a couple better than a single person, unless you are very self sufficient. We can be very flexible about working times, and would provide an allowance for food

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    we can offer - the interest of living in a semi desert area - unique in Europe. The area is very rural and was slow to develop and the past still feels quite close at times.

    I am an ex English language teacher, so would be glad to help someone wanting to improve their English.
    Opportunity to interact with the horses
    My husband knows a lot about carpentry / building and construction work

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    any or all of
    - help with the horses - no experience needed .
    - gardening - weeding , watering etc
    - some fairly vigorous physical work strimming land and tending trees, fencing etc
    - animal sitting so we can have full day out or even go away for night occasionally!
    - help with our Spanish
    - 'mucking in' with cooking / housework / odd maintenance jobs (like painting etc)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    a comfortable self contained flat, attached to our house, converted from old stables. It would best suit a couple, or maybe (a) parent/s with one child, wanting some privacy/ independence, ideally with driving license.
    Previous guests have eaten with us and shared the cooking ( we are vegetarian) but you would also have your own kitchen for times when you want to prepare food for yourselves

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It's great country for walking, biking, just relaxing. The coast is about 45 minutes drive - some natural places, some 'resorts' in reach.
    Might suit someone who needs time and peace for their own writing / study ?
    Someone wanting a longer stay (overwinter?) would be especially wlccome

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    we provide a self contained flat. we have satellite internet with Wifi sufficient for most purposes - but not for heavy internet use or constant streaming

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    we have had a couple of workawayers with motor homes - it has worked well

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    one or two horses , one small dog or a couple of cats possible - anything else negotiable!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 348439447411