Help on our property in the beautiful Cowichan Valley, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 60 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.02.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    540

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our farm is a delightful 7 acre piece of property nestled in the beautiful Cowichan Valley. We acquired the land in 2013 and have been working hard since then to build a passive solar home as well as develop some of the land for agricultural use. The land is a unique mixture of pasture, wetland, and forest. We have a large vegetable and fruit garden. We use organic practices and implement permaculture principles. Our garden/farm is for personal consumption and for sale - we sell vegetables, eggs and some meat.

    We welcomed a beautiful baby boy into our lives in October 2015, and he is now a very active toddler - hence we need all the help we can get! We are expecting a new baby to join our lives this July - so we are busy!

    We really enjoy hosting people from around the world and including them in our family. We get great satisfaction out of cooking and sharing meals, and we do try to get out and have some fun admist the work! At the moment, we have so much work that needs doing, and we really do like to tailor the tasks to people's individual skill sets and/or areas of interest. We always need help with weeding (it's endless!) and generally need help with harvesting, preserving, planting, watering, poultry-tending, fire-wood choppping, cooking, and building.

    We live about 5km from the closest shops and about 15 km from the closest large(ish)town (Duncan, BC). There is so much to see and do in the local area. Hiking, cycling, swimming, climbing opportunities abound! We are but a 20 minute walk to the closest beach, and a 20 minute bike ride to good kayaking opportunities. When we are not working on our farm, travelling, or on our boat, we are working at our "real" jobs as a pilot (Caleb) and a speech-language pathologist (Robin). We both work part-time at our 'real' jobs in order to tend to the farm and our son.

    In winter 2017 we started building a "tiny" house within which our guests can stay. It is situated just outside the garden, and provides guest with lots of privacy and creativity. It is a unique and small space - the bathroom is outside of the building (an outhouse) and the shower is outdoors. We anticipate that the tiny house will be ready for stays as of April 2017.

    We are a fun loving and hard working couple and welcome like minded people!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love sharing our way of life with visitors - we try to live a sustainable lifestyle - we designed our own passive solar home and eat food grown on our own land. We are happy to share our knowledge around design and permaculture. We also simply love the part of the world that we live-in, and are happy to share its treasures with those who visit us!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We primarily need help with the farm, and jobs will change depending on the time of year. This help primarily includes: seed starting, building, weeding, harvesting, tending to chickens and setting-up the road-side stand. We could also use some help with general maintenance and possibly child-care, in order to provide us with time to work on the farm.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Tiny house/ cabin in the garden. No smokers or pets please.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You would likely be most happy with your own car - as public transit is few and far between. We do have bikes to borrow out. The beach is close, hiking trails are even closer. This is a great spot for those with lots of energy and interest in the natural world around them!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 345877128629