Help with some ongoing DIY projects and experience life in rural central France



Bisher 11 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung


    My partner and I have owned our property for 14 years which has been a renovation project. The property is set in central France in a rural village which is very peaceful and tranquil. We have nearly completed the renovations on the 5 bedroom house but we have still got to sort the land and the barns. Even though the inside is nearly completed there is always DIY to do as the house is very old and constantly needs some TLC.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    *Improving conversational English with hosts and/or speaking French with hosts to improve their French - language exchange
    *Speaking French within the local community
    *Engaging in local community activities and events
    *Life in rural France and taking advantage of local amenities

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    *General property maintenance including decorating, plaster boarding etc.
    *Woodwork repairs on doors and window frames.
    *Garden, working with stone to lay patio, building outside kitchen area, grass cutting, pruning, weeding, fencing etc
    *Knowledge of repointing with lime mortar would be a bonus.
    *Looking after our own loved animals when we are away.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We have a 5 bedroom, 3 bathroom house, so we can offer guests their own room and shared lounge, dining room. South facing terrace, prefect for enjoying the peace and quiet. Free parking opposite the house.

    We will provide vegetarian / pescatarian meals In the evenings, although guests are welcome to take turns in cooking if they wish. Guests who wish to eat meat are permitted to cook their own if they wish.

    We have WiFi, although the village is not yet served by fibre.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The village is not served by public transport, the local town is 7km away. The are several local lakes for swimming in the summer, fishing or general leisure, local chateaux to visit, lots of nearby cultural and rural attractions.

    The hosts expect guests to respect equality of opportunity and to enjoy peace and tranquility of rural France.

    We’re in The north east corner of Creuse in the centre of France which is one of the most beautiful and quietest parts of France. It's perfect if you like peace and solitude. Creuse is the main farming region of France and we're surrounded by rolling countryside and farm animals.

    Dotted around are swimming lakes, the occasional park and other local amenities. The largest lakeside beach (swimming lake called Sidiailles - see below) is only a short distance away, and we can take you there on our time off. There are other, more secluded spots, nestled amongst the trees around the lake, where you jump into the water from natural rocks at the edge.

    BOUSSAC (23600) is our nearest town with amenities, and you can look at the local tourist info site to see what's around the rest of the local area.

    We can offer bikes to go off and explore in your free time.

    We can take you out sometimes, to some of the local natural attractions, but not every day as we also work from home. It would probably be at the weekend, or the occasional evening.

    We have WiFi but the village is at the extremes of the distance from the telephone exchange for internet.

    We have a home cinema in our lounge and are happy to watch a film together in the evenings.

    Sidiailles, the nearest swiming lake, has a 'beach' area, aqua fun, kids areas and zip wires that zig zag across the lake itself. It's very pretty and a great place to cool off in the hot weather.

    Sometimes at weekends we go to local vide greniers and brocantes which are much more charming versions of 'car boot sales'. Most villages have one at some time, and people just put tables outside their house showing old things they want to sell.

    Here are some ideas of places to search for online if you're interested:

    BOUSSAC (23600) is our nearest village, with basic amenities. There is a tourism website showing what's around the local area.

    Les Pierres Jaumatres - giant, natural stone formations, precariously balancing on top of each other.

    Toulx Saint Croix - a tower giving 360 degree views.

    Etang des Landes - a large nature conservation area, with a lake and wildlife habitats. Nice pathways to walk or cycle.

    Les Loups de Chabrieres - Wolf sanctuary

    TOWNS: Gueret and Montlucon

    Further away are:

    Mont Dore / Puy de Dome / Clermont Ferrand/ Volvic - the volcanic mountain region - skiing in winter, walkingin summer. Huge flea market on a Sunday morning.

    Vichy - large-ish town.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 339925869971