enjoy the stunning surroundings and help me with some restoration work around the house and maintaining the land. Lugo, Spain




Bisher 171 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  • Beschreibung


    Hi there. I live in a beautiful old stone house in Galicia, northern Spain. I moved here about 6 months ago to try to create a more humble, sustainable and simple life for myself. I am looking for singles or couples to come and stay, enjoy the stunning surroundings and help me with some restoration work around the house and maintaining the land. I grow most of my own organic veg and am a pretty decent cook. You can expect a very comfortable bed, good food, power (from solar) and water (both hot and cold). Otherwise life here is quiet and simple. There is lots of walking to be done nearby, river with fishing and swimming and a tiny local bar. Village is about 25 mins walk but I would be happy to provide the occasional lift. Phone reception is good and I do have decent internet access, although it is not unlimited.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Spanish would be helpful as the locals speak very little English. I am learning but mine remains pretty poor. Main attraction around here is the Camino Santiago, traversed by quite a few thousand pilgrims each year. Expect a very slow pace of life - population is quite old in general and not a huge amount goes on here. But if you want peace and quiet, tranquility and simplicity this is the place for you.

  • Arbeit


    help is generally pretty simple but physically moderately demanding. Pointing stonework, renovating beams, laying flooring, gathering and chopping firewood, maintaining gardens, that sort of thing. You do not need to be highly skilled or to have done this kind of work before as I can easily show you. You just need to be willing to muck in and help out.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Small double room with an excellent bed. Use of kitchen, bathroom and living areas. Is a help yourself kind of environment. Happy to be sociable or just to leave you alone as you wish. Limited privacy as your room comes straight off lounge, but is fine. If you have a vehicle, come and go as you wish. If not, there is little to do around here, but I am happy to give the odd lift into Monforte or Ourense, the 2 largest nearby towns.

    I am really very flexible about this. There will always be fruit, bread, nuts, cheese, salad stuff etc. around and you can help yourself as you wish. I will prepare hot meals every day, at least once, again depending on wishes and requirements. As far as I am concerned you are my guest and I will do my best to look after you. For myself I eat very little meat, but I do eat some. If you are a vegetarian that is no problem, vegan diets would be a little harder for me to cater to, but I am happy to learn.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I am pretty tucked away here. There is a train every morning at 1130 which goes into Ourense and returns around 4. Always happy to drop off and pick up at local station and from time to time will drive you into Monforte or Ourense. Both are very nice towns with shopping, parks, restaurants/bars and various sights and attractions. Santaigo de Compostela is further away, but easily visited by train or bus from Ourense. This is a little visited corner of Spain - most people go South - but they are missing out on one of the loveliest parts of the world I have seen, and I have travelled a fair bit.
    I live very near the confluence of 2 large rivers and so have views along 2 valleys. Lots of birds, lizards and insects like dragonflies and butterflies and the whole place feels like it is bursting with life during the spring and summer. Winters are cold and wet, but on the plus side heat comes from wood burner and open fire which I love - I spend many hours just sitting and staring at the flames.
    Finally, if you are an early riser, I would request that you look after yourself in terms of coffee and breakfast as I tend to get up a little later, and go to bed pretty late. I am pretty easy going about most things, so any reasonable requests you may have I will do my best to accommodate.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 327655487874