Join our families eco project in South Alentejo, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Bisher 250 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 25 Mai 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    We are a couple with a 10-year-old daughter, a 5-year-old boy, 2 dogs, 4 cats, and 15 chickens living on a beautiful piece of land in South Alentejo (Portugal).

    We love quietness and contact with nature, waking up every day in our haven of peace, surrounded by oak trees.
    We are currently working on the regeneration of the land, which has been over grazed for many years: planting trees, pruning the oaks, creating swells, designing a holistic water management system (ponds for water retention and to increase biodiversity, water filtering to be reused straight in the ground, etc.

    We wish all our visitors (friends, volunteers) will connect with nature, learn new things, and enjoy mindful moments - as well as eat good fresh local food!

    We are looking for volunteers for a minimum of 2 weeks, mainly from April to July (the rest of the year, check the updated calendar on our profile).

    Volunteers' tasks will include woodwork, decoration, gardening, planting, feeding the animals, and maybe playing with our kids...nothing imposed :)

    In return for your assistance, we provide accommodation in a great caravan and generally share lunch together.
    Our volunteers/workawayers have their own complete kitchen where they can prepare their other meals (we provide your food).

    There is also an outdoor toilet and shower.

    The season here is slow from May to June, gets busy during July and August, and then becomes quieter again in September.

    The work type and hours will depend on the time of year.

    During your time here, you will be able to explore the pristine beaches of the Costa Vicentina as well as meet with the other foreigners of the very active community of the region.

    If that resonates with you, let us know. We would be happy to chat with you a bit more to get to know you!

    PS: We usually prefer to host a couple or 2 friends at the same time so you don't feel lonely if we have a family dinner in our own tiny house. We love to keep our privacy and respect yours.
    Lunch is generally together with the volunteers, sometimes dinner.
    We also share days on the beach, and bring you with us to events or markets in the region...
    If there is water in our lake, you can swim in it as well ;)

    We are not in a totally remote place, within 10 minutes you can be in the small neighboring city, and due to the ever-expanding foreign community around here, there will be plenty of occasions to meet with like-minded people around here :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We speak French, Hebrew, English, Spanish and Portuguese...we travelled quite a lot before finding our piece of land in Portugal and we come from backgrounds very different from what we are doing we guess there is a lot to exchange with whoever is open to it :)

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for responsible and serious volunteers who would like to help us continue to re-generate a beautiful piece of land, by building wooden structures, help with animals, children sometimes... We provide rural accommodation to mindful souls.

    Qualified and/or motivated volunteers requested :)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Hebrew: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation is in a comfortable, large caravan.
    There is an outdoor shower, a kitchen, and a compost toilet, as well as a wooden table and benches.
    If you have a caravan or a van, there is plenty of space, so we can discuss the option as well.
    We provide food for volunteers (mainly vegetarian) but volunteers cook their own meals, apart from lunch which we share together.

    The following should be acknowledged and accepted by volunteers before they come. Thank you :)

    We work 4 days a week, 5-6 hours a day.
    We are quiet people who expect the same from our volunteers (no (too) loud music please). It is for us basic respect to this rural area, as some birds are nesting on the land and in the neighboring areas (owls, falcons...).

    Our tiny house is not a 'communal area', as we are a family that values its privacy.
    We also respect volunteers' privacy, everyone should enjoy his own space. We can connect to the Internet from our house so you can enjoy it outside.

    There is an outdoor (covered) kitchen for volunteers attached to the biggest caravan, an outdoor shower, and compost toilets.
    We expect fom volunteers that they will keep these areas clean and tidy so that everyone can enjoy a welcoming place.

    Water is valued and should not be wasted: we are in a dry area, and our water comes from the well.

    We expect people to shower and do their dishes as efficiently as possible. We prefer anyway people that shower regularly, for the comfort of all :)
    Only ecological products should be used as all the water goes back to the land. We can provide such if needed.

    We all drink water from a nearby source (regularly controlled, best water ever :)

    It is forbidden to make fires or use candles. The risk of fire is extremely high in the hot season (from May to November).

    Positive and mindful people are always welcome.
    We prefer to avoid extremists of all kinds.
    Live and let live :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Volunteers can go to the beach (beautiful Vilanova de Milfontes is 20 min drive from our place), hike on the Rota Vincentina, pick mushrooms, go surf...our place is located 10 minutes from a small town with restaurants and cafes.
    There are also plenty of local markets that make the rhythm of the life well as other foreigners around...different projects, same good energy.

    If it's too hot (and it has been raining in the winter): just take a dip in our lake and then rest in the shade of the oak trees; 2nd option: beach or lake, both are accessible in less than 20 minutes. A good siesta under a tree is always recommended.

    If it's already dark, find a comfortable seat or lay down and stare at the moon & stars, listen to the owls, the frogs...
    Enjoy peace, there are no more boundaries between inside and outside...

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 5-6 hours a day, 4 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 319877827928

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Offgrid farm with simple rustic living overlooking a valley and Nazare, Alcobaca, Portugal
Help revive this off-grid mountain farmstead near Monchique, Portugal