Learn about outdoor adventure and about being happy in a beautiful location at our place near Byron Bay, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 50 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Learn about outdoor adventure, a happy and healthy lifestyle, sustainable design, and help us on our very long journey to create a carbon bank and wildlife sanctuary in the beautiful Green Cauldron, around Mt Warning/Wollumbin, an hour from Byron Bay, Australia.

    We are peaceful, environmentalists from Iraq/UK and Australia, and we invite you to enjoy amazing views, peace, connection to nature, and a great hammock, in return for helping us get our act together.

    It is so peaceful here, the place itself can make you well, and we want to create a place that is even more nurturing of both nature and humans.

    Our 100 acres border a national park, and we have great views of 4 other national parks. We have currently grow cattle and trees.

    We don’t have pets so the local wallabies love to visit and hang out around our house and paddocks.

    We have a small passive solar home which is fully powered by grid-connected solar, with loads of rainwater in our tanks, and solar hot-water.

    This past year the weather has been windy and colder than normal. But we still expect January-February to be really hot and humid. The months either side of that are still T-shirt weather. In winter you'll need warm clothes but it is only cold enough to have a fire about 3-10 times per year.

    Kirsten is an architect with sustainable design knowledge but she loves adventure in nature much more and so works for a not-for-profit which promotes outdoor adventure and conservation.

    Yasir is a bagpipe-playing Iraqi-Londoner programmer/actor/musician who has a degree in physics and knows all kinds of scientifically proven ways we can live sustainably. Don’t worry, he won’t be playing the bagpipes – but he can understand a thick Scottish accent!

    TASKS
    We need help with cooking vegan food from natural ingredients including making ferments, sprouts, and baked food.

    Your tasks also include house cleaning, Scanning documents, Weeding paddocks, Trapping cane toads, Sanding and painting. See full list of tasks below.

    We need active people with a zest for life, motivated and willing to take initiative.

    SCHEDULE
    Kirsten will work with you to organise your tasks and activities. You are welcome to work at a time that suits you thought the day.

    If you are an early riser, you might enjoy drinking tea with Yasir, and watching the first rays of the sun that hit Australia on the top of Mt Warning/Wollumbin. Then watch the sun trace out the walls of the caldera across the vast valley/green cauldron.

    Or you could join Kirsten for her morning yoga and meditation session.

    We will make a late lunch together mid-afternoon and then a dinner around 7pm.

    In the afternoon watch another light display as the sun sets.

    If it rains, you might see a rainbow – this is called the “Rainbow Region”.

    FOOD
    We don’t mind of you eat eggs, dairy, canned or cold meats if you desire them, or will miss them while you are with us, but ask that you bring and prepare them for yourself.

    We are really sorry but we can’t accommodate meat cooking. We wouldn’t be offended if you ate meat, but we don’t like the smell of it cooking so ask that you take a break from cooking meat throughout your stay.

    We hope you enjoy our vegan food while here.

    CLIMATE & CLOTHES
    Please bring long pants, long-sleeve tops and covered in shoes/boots for working.

    Otherwise, a t-shirt and shorts can be worn 6 months of the year.
    Bring warm clothes from June – September (jumper, long pants, warm coat).
    Bring your bathers from September – June. Or all year if you don’t feel the cold.

    Bring a sunhat and rain coat all year round. It’s usually sunny but when it rains, it can really pour down. It often feels like you are in the midst of any storm which is exciting!


    We look forward to hearing from you. All the very, very best with your travels.

    Kirsten & Yasir

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Discover the peace of a quiet place in nature.
    Watch the wallabies hop about and hang out on the grass.
    Listen to the birds and watch them glide and soar across the valley.

    Kirsten is a master of keeping numerous projects going at once so she could share how to achieve a lot using organisation and efficiency.
    Kirsten loves to share her outdoor adventure knowledge and skills. Ask about hiking, skiing, rafting, cycling, paddling. Learn loads of tips and insider secrets about Australian adventure.
    Kirsten is delighted to share her knowledge of sustainable architecture and design.
    Yasir has loads of knowledge about how to live sustainably.

    Learn cooking for special diets, vegan cooking.
    Languages we speak: English, Iraqi, Arabic, some Spanish and Italian

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with cooking vegan food from natural ingredients including making yoghurt, sauerkraut, sourdough, sprouts, ferments, baked and air-dried foods.

    Cleaning. Scanning documents. Weeding paddocks. Trapping cane toads. Sanding and painting.

    Get our shed and house organised. Think unpacking boxes, cleaning out our shed, and creating space. If you love creating order by categorising and organising everything from tools, building materials, books, papers, and things, this is the place for you!

    If you are handy with tools, we have minor building jobs inside the house to help create a beautiful home.

    In future we would love your help to plant fruit trees, set up a watering system, dig a compost ring.

    If you have the skills, help us plan our transition from cattle farm to regenerative farm, carbon bank, and nature refuge.

    If you’re creative, repurpose our old timber and steel into insect hotel sculptures and encourage native bees.

    We need active people with a zest for life, motivated and willing to take initiative.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Arabisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Kirsten would love to practice her rusty Spanish so she doesn't lose it! Yasir speaks Iraqi if that helps :-)

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The second bedroom in our small 2 bedroom house is yours. It has a queen sized bed, a desk and cupboard with shelves. It is right beside our bedroom. You share the separate toilet and bathroom with us.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live a 15-20 minutes drive from a vibrant, funky, country village with art, cafes, a market, and performances.
    The national parks around us are great places to go hiking, bushwalking, mountain biking, paddling.
    We are 10 minutes from a beautiful and peaceful lake set in this "green cauldron" landscape.
    We are 30 minutes drive from an art gallery and town called Murwillumbah with a small cinema, general shops, cafes, and art scene.
    We are 30 minutes drive from Nimbin and 1 hour from Byron Bay.

    The beauty of our location is the feeling of vast space and peacefulness. But that is our return for living quite a distance from lots of shops/buildings/people. So please come if you enjoy peace and quiet and nature.

    Also, it is best if you have your own/transport.

    We go into Murwillumbah at least once most weeks. We go to the Gold Coast or Byron Bay one or 2 times per month. Whenever we go out we are very happy to take you with us in the car so you can get out and explore.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good internet 95% of the time. There is a desk in your bedroom. We both work from home in our office.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of space and can accommodate any size van. We also have an outside toilet that you can park near. We prefer travelers with their own vehicle.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 297657659592