Living off grid and helping us to develop our homestead in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 52 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We, an Austrian family with two children, enjoy the simple, decelerated life in the Portuguese Alentejo. The office chairs and regular working hours were exchanged for all sorts of tools and activities that enrich our hearts. We spend most of our time outside, but most of all we have the opportunity to spend them together. We have one dog and three cats.

    We own a property on the shoreside of a lake near the village Torrão. It´s a reservoir lake which supplies the rice fields 30km away. Also due to little rain in winter the lake can disappear one season. When full, it gives us the opportunity to swim, kajak or just relax and enjoy nature. Torrão is small but nice, not touristy but rather typical portuguese. More busy in summer than in winter. The next big town Èvora is 40min by car.

    Our business plan is to sell olive oil and give courses in handweaving and wildeness/survival skills such as archry, primitive fire making, etc.
    For this we are developing our property. We do all our things mainly ourselfs. Besides solar power, running water (cold & hot) and 2 work spaces we can provide a public outdoor kitchen, a 5m yurt for guests, 1 bathroom with a shower/1 extra bath house with small tub. Further we can accomodate tents (bring your own) and 2-4 caravans/mobile homes.

    Our main work at the moment is to cut our olive trees for the next harvest.
    Also constructing buildings, working on fences, cooking and spending time with our kids or teach them skills you bring with you is on the list.
    We are living with nature and don´t follow a strict 9-5 working day. We work depending on the personal kids´needs and the weather, sometimes including weekends while having days off during the week. Nevertheless, a healthy work attitude is just as important to us as good communication. We daily provide three vegetarian meals as well as fruits.

    We also love to go surfing (50min by car) once every two weeks, go on weekly trips to Evora or exploring our closer surrounding.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a family from Austria with two kids, a husky and three cats. We love to be outdoors, to kajak, to shoot with bow and arrow, develop our garden, visit a capoeira class with our kids and go surfing.
    We give courses in survival skills and have an atelier with two looms where you can have a closer look into handweaving.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help in cutting our olive trees, cleaning the land, cutting fire wood.
    Maintain our fruit and vegetable garden.
    Building a fence around the property.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Portuguese: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a mongolian yurt to sleep in. It is located on a hill with a beautifull view at the lake. The yurt has 28sqm and offers a double siced bed, a chest of drawers and a table with chairs. The separate bathroom with shower, sink and composting toilet is just around the corner.
    You can also bring your tent or van to live in.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    With your time off, you can go with us to Évora, go to the beach of Sines/Melides/Comporta and join us with surfing. The village Torrão is only a 10min walk away and provides you with small supermarkets, cafes and bars.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 293774195645