A Schooner in Need of Tender Loving Care, anchored off Mallorca in the Balearic Islands - Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 133 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.12.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 104 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live on a schooner built in 1976 which, after many years of ocean sailing, came to rest at anchor off Mallorca in the Balearic Islands.
    We're senior citizens of modest means so we're going to need help in Spring and Summer 2019 with making some repairs and restoring some of the internal infrastructure of the boat without going to a boatyard.
    Conditions aboard can be described as fairly primitive because, for example, there is no running water (there is water it just doesn't come through taps at the moment!) so we'll need help with installing new plumbing but at least the loo works properly! Obviously you need to be pretty fit to be able to enjoy this opportunity! Oh and if you suffer from motion sickness or you're allergic to cats you may want to save yourself the bother of reading any further as Sweetie Pie, the ship's cat since 2006, thinks he is the ruler of all he surveys...
    If you're still reading this and a spell of rough and ready life aboard a 72' schooner appeals, then you probably want to know what we're offering in exchange for your efforts apart from bed and board!
    Convivial company - we're relaxed and hospitable, good listeners with lots of stories to tell if asked but quite happy in companionable silence too.
    We're very flexible so if you prefer to work more hours on less days and go adventuring on the days which are freed up that way, we're fine with the idea, weather permitting.
    On board we have a vast collection of DVDs and a personal player you can use in your cabin.
    Internet access depends on how much time you want to spend online, if you just want to check your e-mails you can use our phone but access through a pay-as-you-go SIM card of your own can be acquired very cheaply if you want to spend more time online. 12 gigabytes plus unlimited free national calls and SMS only costs €20 a month or there are smaller packages for less!
    We have plenty of books on board and games too.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you want to meet new people in the area we can introduce you to plenty online and some in person and you can make arrangements to get together in any one of the many cafes, restaurants and bars open all year. There is a fairly large English-speaking community here and we know a lot of local people too.
    There are almost always cultural events going on, from theatre to exhibitions by local artists, fiestas and concerts.
    If you want to learn Spanish from scratch or brush up on your fluency, one of us can help you with that too!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have everything we need to rebuild the shower room except for the pipework, which is a start so we will need help with putting it together and plumbing it in.
    There are a few deck leaks so we will need help with sorting those out and can show a volunteer how to do it but some experience with carpentry work or DIY is necessary. There is interior carpentry to be done as well. We have all the tools needed in the ship's workshop, up in the bow. We haven't made an exhaustive list yet but there are always plenty of other jobs to do, from regular cleaning and maintenance to machine sewing new sail covers through helping with shopping and bringing supplies aboard, scrubbing the sides of the hull down and re-painting them whilst standing up in a dinghy or repairing outboard motors.
    Cleaning is a never-ending task as it is anywhere else.
    There might even be a little gardening to do for those with green fingers as we grow some of our own food on board!
    Carting rubbish ashore and fetching water and provisions (with the dinghy) is another regular chore as is keeping the solar panels clean.
    We're also trying to reduce our clutter so there is the prospect of helping to get unwanted items ashore for sale or donation to charity shops.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanish, French, Italian and some German.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A dry cabin all to yourself with the possibility of a bigger, better one to move into once the rain no longer leaks into it!
    Slightly primitive washing facilities so this opportunity is not really suited to the prissy or the terribly fussy traveller...
    Healthy, delicious meals and snacks whenever suits you, prepared by a man with plenty of experience of catering for top class eaters and who loves cooking, accompanied by wine, beer, juices or even water if you insist!
    We'd prefer an omnivore guest to anyone with serious dietary restrictions but are willing to try and accommodate your whims within reason!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The three local sandy beaches are only a few minutes away and if you're a keen cyclist there are bike rental places and guided cycling tours during much of the year.
    The centre of the capital city, Palma, is about half an hour away by bus. You might even want to rent a car and visit some of the spectacular attractions on the rest of the island if cycling is too much like hard work!
    Depending on the season, there is the famous club scene in Magalluf which is just around the corner from the other end of the bay (but don't expect us to share any enthusiasm you may have for nightlife ashore as we hate to disappoint!)
    There's a lot to see on the island and if you like hiking up modest mountains you can even do that here!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 284923371987