Join our family and our daily farm life in Ogembo, Kenya

Country

Kenia

Bisher 20 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.12.2021

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Am Mrs Milka and my husband is Pr Daniel Benson Ondabu. We have three adult children where the youngest is in his third year in university pursuing a degree in Information Communication Technology (ICT)
    I am a business Lady doing retail in my small shop and also engaged in chicken and Guinea fowls rearing. My husband has a banana farm where he grows bananas and cassavas. We also own other land parcels where we have planted gum and graveria trees. The lands include one at our ancestral home where we have also tea bushes and also at Nyaonke farm, where there was a school but now trees are grown. Another land parcel is one where we have a maize plantation and it is inter cropped with gum tree seedlings. While the maize there is about to ripen, the trees are still very young and need tending and nurturing.
    We live in Kisii county at Ogembo town opposite Ogembo tea factory along Kisii kilgoris road. We have a well built house in the homestead where we are living. Also is the shop where I have the retail shop. At the hind rooms of the shop is where I rear chicken. I and my husband may require someone with better knowledge about this to help us improve the trade.
    The droppings from the chicken help us in fertilizing the bananas, cassava the maize, the tea and other crops.
    Previously we owned a private school which is now defunct, but some of the structures are still standing in the premise, besides the trees which we had planted on the same parcel of land. The trees are now full grown and ready for harvest, but we are not harvesting as at now.
    My husband is a pastor who preaches in a local Church and if need be, he may require voluntary assembly with the workawayers. That gesture may go a long way to impart our cultural heritage as the workawayers will learn first hand the Afracan approach to Christianity. At times when my husband is free, he helps in tilling and nurturing the shambas.
    The homestead has, planted on it the bananas and cassavas. These crops need to be tended and so my husband has to make some time for the same.
    This place where we are living is so friendly and the people here are very hospitable. They like and love people from all parts of the world. The workawayers will definitely like and love them. The tea factory company which is close to us here may serve as a nearby tourist attraction centre and our guests may be interested to visit there.
    Even when the travellers are my guests, if they may need to visit any sceneries here in Kenya, they can do so without an impromptu planning and arranging for the same without a problem.
    With thanks.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our esteemed guests will benefit greatly from our cultural heritage that is very rare. They may visit the neighboring tea factory and learn first hand the processing of the tea, they may also learn the new Kiswahili language by interacting with the Kisii community members who are widely known to be hospitable and we as the hosting family. They may learn about new foods and on how such foods are prepared for serving. We the hosts would teach our guests new ways of cooking and how we serve the meals and would expect the workaways to also teach us their methods of cookery and cooking.
    The kinds of cookery we shall offer will be fascinatingly African and so the best for cultural exchange to our guests. This statement is not meant to exclude African workaways.
    In order for the workaways to also teach us their methods of cookery as a cultural exchange, we have decided to give them a period of two days per week to also do their cooking.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The travellers would be asked to help in applying the droppings onto the banana gardens, tea bushes, the cassava the maize and the trees. They will also care for the chicken, feeding the chicken. On our profile we have stated a lot of activities in our shambas. We will require our guests to help in tilling the gardens. Also they can help in general maintenance of the farmhouse, and in charity work.
    We may also want our guests to help in general construction and maintenance of our church, and maybe provide us with ideas on how to run the church. The structure of the church will need to be improved and beautified and so would require some hands.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our worthwhile guests will be staying in our farmhouse which is self contained with four free bedrooms including the Host's. It is incumbent on us to make as comfortable as possible our esteemed guests who are our second family. We have included the accommodation photo in the profile.
    We know rather too well that the workawayers will eat food and be accommodated at our home. While this is clear in our minds, we want to categorically state that we can't charge for the services that we offer to our guests.
    We also take this question to mean how food will be served, what type and what time it will be served. In our home we have a schedule on how food is served and I think it is better if we use the trend. Food is normally served three times in a day,which include: breakfast in the morning at about 8.00 AM, Lunch break at about 1.30PM to 2.00PM and supper at between 7.30 PM to 8.30 PM. The meals will be shared by the travellers and the family members as one single family.
    The type of food to be served for breakfast will be tea with milk, mandazi or loaves of bread, cooked or boiled sweet potatoes, fried or boiled bananas, fried or boiled cassavas and others. Lunch will have ugali, Rice, milk green vegetables beans, meat eggs and even chicken. Supper may be like lunch, but with different arrangements.
    I and my husband will provide food for our esteemed guests. However we will accord the workaways an opportunity to cook for the family. This will provide an opportunity to exchange their cultural heritage. We shall serve at least three meals per day. The travellers will serve together with us, the hosts and enjoy the meals as a family.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are a Christian family who would like to share a little about the word of God with our guests. This is a cultural heritage as the preaching, proclaiming, and teaching will be done by typical African. However, this is not meant to scare workaways who are not Christians since this is not compulsory but optional.
    The travellers may choose to make visits to any other places through impromptu planning. We have some small but attractive tourist sceneries that our guests may choose to visit such as Sameta hill chalk stone quarries, Rionsare waterfalls, Rianyakwana waterfalls and neighbouring Ogembo Tea Factory and others.
    We shall accord our esteemed guests an opportunity to cook for the extended family, that is, our family together with them, some two days for one week. This, I believe will go a notch higher to empower us on cultural exchange.
    The workaways can use their time off to also teach us things such as computer applications, storytelling and writing, biblical interpretation and many more.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 223464391332