Help in our family home in Wales, UK



Bisher 189 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We are a loving Christian family with 6 children (ages 12-21 years). We would like a workaway volunteer for some extra help! We are a very welcoming family, and really appreciate the help that you give, you make a real difference in our lives. We would be happy to hear from you, if you can work for more than 3 weeks we would be delighted to hear from you and believe you will find the experience rewarding. One of my previous volunteers said to me "Enter as strangers, leave as friends" this sums up how we are very open with our visitors and include you as part of the family for the time you are with us. One volunteer wrote to me "Thank you, I grew up and became a better person because of the experiences and learning I had in your home". I hope we can make as much difference in your life as your help will in ours! We have made many great friends who have been workaway placements in our home over the past five years and we really value your contribution in our lives. I hope that you like living in our noisy, chaotic home. The workaway tasks we usually give are tasks such as gardening, cleaning, ironing or playing with children. Working 5 hours a day, 5 days per week, (we work those hours around English lessons at the library if required). If we are of interest to you then send me a message, we look forward to hearing from you xxx

    PS for the summer holidays (late July-late August) 2019, we are going to a mountain chalet in St Gervais Les Bains near Chamonix in the Alps in France, we have room for one more if someone wishes such an experience. During which time there is no WiFi (we'll have to go to cafes for that).

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    They will gain insight and experience of working with children with special needs (autism, epilepsy, learning needs) and this will be of great value if the volunteer is interested in health, social or education work. (The last volunteer was a psychologist and she thanked me saying she learnt more in 3 months in my home than 3 years of university and books). I cannot underestimate what benefits learning first hand you can gain to help you if your career is in such a field.
    The volunteer will gain an improvement in English language skills (lovingly corrected when you make mistakes and encouraged to improve/practice speaking and listening skills), with plenty of friendly children to practice with.
    The volunteer will be loved, valued and appreciated, this family really needs the extra help and values those helpers accordingly. You will be respected and treated kindly and fairly. You will be appreciated for your hard work and contribution to the home. You will be respected and hopefully you will learn great life skills in dealing with children but also I'm a great cook, I hope you get some yummy cake recipes etc...If you have had a broken family background, I hope you will find us a safe, loving family to be tender towards you and hopefully aid you in your healing path to wholeness. Most of all you will be accepted for who you are and LOVED.

  • Arbeit


    The help involves such tasks as peeling vegetables, hoovering, cleaning, washing, unloading dishwashers, mopping floors, bed changing, and playing with kids or gardening. Our family are very loving and teachers say that our children are very well behaved, however in the home environment where the children are more relaxed it can be a challenge as all of the children have mild autism diagnosis and can be noisy and very strong willed. Sammy (age 19) has complex health needs (epilepsy) and learning difficulties (work away is not usually required to look after Sammy as he has carers), Sophie (aged 21) works part time as a carer for Sammy and is at university, Hannah is 17, Josh is 16, Ben is 14 and Grace is 12.

    You are required to work 25 hours per week. I prefer you to help 25 hours over Tuesday to Saturday but I am flexible and will work around the availability of English classes.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English mainly, French Ben is learning, German Hannah and Grace are learning, Welsh children learn, and Josh is learning French

  • Unterkunft


    It is a large Victorian house, you will have your own bedroom with great views. Shared bathroom. The location is beautiful, we are within walking distance to the beach and hills covered in woods behind the house. There is free WiFi (fibre), we will provide all your meals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We value the helpers we have in our home and enjoy learning about your culture/home. We hope that you will enjoy your time with us. One of our workaway persons gave us a plaque which said "enter as strangers and leave as friends" we hope that will be your experience with our family.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    25 hours per week.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 216431913465