Join us at this unique farm in the countryside full of hand-sculpted natural buildings and positive vibes, near Nainital, Uttarakhand, India

Country

Indien

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 159 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.11.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1046

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 56 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This farm is the start of a long held dream of mine, a longing for the earth, a calling to go back to our roots, an affirmation towards earth care and repair. It isn't much right now but I invite you to join in as we together build it up.

    It aspires to be:
    - a Permaculture Farm serving as my home and an eco-community
    - a homestay with unique natural structures that use the sun, wind, water and science to function better
    - a homestead that believes in growing your own food organically, milking your own cows, picking fresh eggs, making your own breads, sauces, pickles, pizzas...
    - an educational hub to learn how to build your own houses through different techniques such as Earthbags, Cob, Earthship, Stone formwork, Rammed earth, Bamboo... natural, efficient and sustainable
    - a learning centre for the surrounding villages where we teach the kids English, are setting up a computer centre, a stitching centre for the women, natural farming, eco constructions, bio toilets, martial arts, heck I don't know what all's gonna come up as we go along
    - a gorgeous place to just unwind amidst nature, gurgling streams, stunning exotic birds and lovely hiking trails.

    But above all, we yearn to be the inspiration for the neighboring villages, their training and demo centre so the ecologically destructive practices and impractical cement houses can be stopped.

    We are currently working on art projects for our bamboo loft, stone and lime masonry, wattle and daub, cordwood flooring, Araish work (Indian tadelakt) and carpentry. And need additional help with professional videography, documentation, social media management, blog writing...

    We'd love to have you join the gang as we change the world, one house at a time :)

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We specialise in natural buildings, passive solar design, mud and lime work, stone work, innovative designs for rocket stoves, cob ovens and so on and are happy to share the knowledge with you.

    We are happy to show you around the village and meet the locals, have 'chai' with them. We love to work very hard but also to have fun together with music, dancing, bonfires, cooking... as the mood may be.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for friends to join us with some experience in sustainable building (living roofs, lime plastering, earthen floors), woodworking/carpentry, photography, videography, social media handling, website design, blog writing, wall art painting, Permaculture etc. We would be happy to learn some crafts too.

    Because of monsoon season, outdoor work gets limited and random between June-September.

    The help is usually very physical and involves a lot of manual labor. We work between 9am to 5pm with a 2 hour lunch break. We expect help from you for 5 hours a day.

    We have observed that at least one week for volunteering is required for a meaningful exchange. There is a 5 dollar charge per night for a shared dormitory to cover the cost of food and utilities. The charge goes towards buying food from the local farmers to support them and bringing in other grains/oils, not available in the village, from the city, 70 kms away.

    We are friendly passionate people who are working towards the development of the community ecologically. We believe in knowledge sharing and are happy to answer any and all questions.


    Our Expectations:

    We are not a hotel. This is our house and we expect you to act like a conscientious guest. We believe in being proactive with help and do not expect to oversee anyone. We assume that you are applying because you want to contribute in our cause and will do what it takes, bringing in even more energy, passion and commitment.

    We are based in a somewhat remote rural village. You are expected to respect the culture and dress modestly.

    The nearest market is 20 kms away so provisions will need to be planned in advance.

    If it isn't working out for you, you are free to leave. If it isn't working out for us, we are free to ask you to leave.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Hindi.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a large comfortable bamboo and mud loft with dorm style sleeping. You could also pitch your own tent.

    Flush toilets, both Indian and Western style are available. Indoor shower with hot water and outdoor shower in the natural stream.

    Meals are provided including Breakfast, Lunch, Evening Tea, Dinner. Locally prepared and vegetarian.

    The last 5 kms to the farm is a dirt road so plan on arriving between 9:30 am - 4:00 pm on your first day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Other activities we indulge in during free time:
    - Movies on projector
    - Bonfire and grilling
    - Local hiking trails
    - Boating and sailing at Nainital lake
    - Shopping at local markets of Nainital

    We are 20 kms from Nainital and there are shared taxis that leave at 7.15am everyday that could take you to town. There is a small shop in the village itself for basic needs and provisions.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week

  • ...

    Dieser Host verlangt Gebühren

    mehr dazu
    no more than US$5 per day to help with food costs

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 172924223699