aktualisiert   Last minute

If you love dogs and want to discover the Three Borders region, welcome to our home in Hégenheim, France

  • Bisher 681 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 24 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, we're Rita, Victor and Peach & Chips!

    ***Currently seeking Workawayers from the 18th July***

    We are based in the small home village of Victor, situated a stones throw away from the Swiss border, and a little further but still very close to the German border. Following several years of renovating houses, vans, camping cars and a little bit of traveling around France, we are settled in a house, working as an entrepreneur (Victor) and a yoga teacher (Rita).
    A little more about the dogs: Peach is a 6 year old, 70kg Anatolian Shepard (also know as a Kangal), a primitive breed of dog known to be extremely loyal and impossible to train - as long as you respect her she will respect you.
    Chips is a 5 year old American Staffordshire (official documents state he is a Boxer, therefore no categorization by French law standards). His 3 true loves in this world - playing fetch, playing with water, and people, he absolutely adores people.
    Both dogs were adopted from the local shelters, Peach when she was 4 months, and Chips when he was 10months. Unfortunately, Chips still bears the scars of his 6 months at the shelter, combined with his naturally reactive instincts, it makes for a very easily spooked and reactive dog.
    Neither Peach nor Chips are able to see another dog without being triggered, with both having attacked several dogs in the past. Therefore walks around the village are not a thing in our daily lives. Instead we play games in the garden and the large yard we have at our disposal beside the house.

    The main job is to look after the dogs, ideally when we plan to be away from home for a few days.
    In that case, our preference is, if possible, to come to the house at least a few days in advance so that we can see how it goes between you and the dogs.

    We appreciate it if our guests can stay for at least two weeks. Of course, if you'd like to stay longer, you're welcome to do so too :)

    As mentioned previously, these are not the kind of dogs you can take for a leisurely stroll on a summer’s eve.
    We need someone who has no fear nor hesitance being around very big, intimidating dogs.
    Daily tasks would be to accompany the dogs to the yard to play, being with them throughout the day as company, feeding them, keeping them from barking all day, and, top priority, ensuring they don’t escape (through fault of the gates not being closed after use). Of course, we really appreciate being helped with everyday tasks around the house.

    This experience is a great opportunity for someone who is independent and would like to visit the region, which is rich in culture and food and easily accessible by bike (which we can also provide).

    Every region here has its own charm : Not to mention the fact that our location in the heart of Europe gives us access to so many different regions. In summer, you can even go swimming together in the Rhine. In winter, there are Christmas markets in Alsace and Basel, in spring, summer and autumn : hiking trails in all directions (the Black Forest, the Alps and the Jura all accessible in less than an hour drive or train ride), and it is a crossroads for many main cross-European bike routes!

    In the past, we've renovated this house and the one next door, which meant we could learn a lot of technical and practical things on a daily basis. This is less the case now, but there's still plenty of DIY and physical work to be done for those who want it. .

    We live in a large house with our housemates, Darshan and Gabriel, and the 2 dogs.

    You would have a large room of your own, the house has the amenities like any other. We are largely vegetarians, sometimes sourcing our food from a local food saving organization of which we’re part of.

    Most of the time, we eat fresh, unprocessed produce and vegetarian cuisine, but we can also adapt and cook vegan if required, or even gluten-free. Victor is an incredible cook who will happily provide lunches and dinners for us all, breakfast will also be provided.

    There is much more to be detailed and explained about this experience so if you’re interested please don’t hesitate to contact us!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The region is very special, with French, Swiss and German influences. We can help you discover this region, most notably the cuisine, as well as cuisine from around the world.

    Victor is particularly fascinated by cultural differences, and will be delighted to discuss them with his guests.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Please read the bio that I've created for this project carefully. The chores and skills listed are very much true to form. Unfortunately this isn't the workaway experience where we can teach you many more skills.

    We understand it is difficult to give a concrete amount of time for staying before you even arrive but please be realistic when defining how long you will stay - it helps us greatly in planning the project.

    One more thing, if you recognise yourself in the following list please reconsider contacting me as it may not be the workaway for you :)
    - broken heart
    - extreme mood swings or other psychological imbalances

    We've had a couple of bad experiences with workawayers who had some of the aspects listed above. As we live together, we're trying to make the best environment possible for everyone.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a large house with, as explained above, our two flatmates and the two dogs. A river runs through the garden and we have a direct view of the forest behind.

    The garden is connected to the house next door, the 9 people living there are our friends, we regularly share an apéro, slack line and hangout in the garden together. You would have a large room of your own, the house has the amenities like any other.

    We are largely vegetarians, sometimes sourcing our food from a local food saving organization of which we’re part of. We don’t provide for vegans or meat-eaters, but have nothing against either.

    Victor is an incredible cook who will happily provide lunches and dinners for us all, breakfast will also be provided.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you contact us, do not send a novel, please be concise and effective in your message :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    High speed wifi internet access everywhere including the garden

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We can accommodate a van, but you should be aware that it would be parked next to the road, which can be particularly noisy.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Flexible, max 25 a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 151494811897

Feedback (25)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




































Country living, sharing skills and languages in Serres sur Arget, France
A bit of everything including renovation, no dig gardening, DIY, painting and animals in rural Charente Maritime, France