Helfer gesucht für unser Permakultur- und Öko-Bauprojekt in Vlaamse Ardennen, Brakel, Belgien

Country

Belgien

Bisher 813 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    "Taste a different life."

    This is a small educatonal non-profit organisation with a permaculture farm. We offer people the chance to experience a simple life in connection with nature. We believe this will inspire and motivate people to become less dependent of ending resources.
    For the neighbourhood we organize some activities. The most important one is the monthly pizza-party, on which we share our harvest and our products. We used to sell sourdough bread, made in our wood-fired masonry oven. Now we only bake for ourselves and for the pizza-parties. In the permaculture garden, we try to build up fertile soil with organic material from the surrounding. We grow almost all the vegetables we eat. We hope to be able to sell some of them in the near future.
    The place is gradually built out by the volunteers, using low-tech ecological building techniques such as rocket-stove, clay from the land, wood from the forest and homemade paint based on fresh cheese and flour (next to more traditional materials). The big transformations are already made, but from time to time there are still small projects undertaken.
    The project is ran by the owners of the place (Ine, Dirk and Hazel (12) and Sienna (10)), helped by some long-term volunteers. Nora is a professional basket weaver and Rob bio-engineer. A family with two young kids lives on the land in a wagon, and shares the kitchen. All kids are homeschooled.
    The 4 ha domain has forest, orchard (meadow) and agriculture land. There are sheep, dogs, cats, chickens, a rabbit and an old horse.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a place where you have the opportunity to try things, experiment, and learn about living simple in a more sustainable and self-sufficient way, close to nature.
    You can learn a lot here, about all sorts of things. There is nature with all its resources, there are some tools, there are books and people to exchange with or to learn from. If some things are not practised during work time, you could experiment with them in your free time. If you want to undertake a project that's in line with our principles, make a proposal, we might adopt it.
    But it's important that you yourself take initiatives to learn things. See it as a library, where you go to study; not a school, where you go to be taught.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with
    - Gardening: planting, weeding, mulching, …
    - Harvesting and processing: pick berries, make jam or juice, make pesto, …
    - Organising activities: prepare the rooms, do the bar, help making pizzas and other food, ...
    - Green management: scything, wood chopping, planting, mulching, …
    - Forest (mainly spring and autumn): move logs, remove brambles, plant trees
    - Manage firewood: chop, staple

    Depending on your interests and when and how long you’re here, there may also be the possibility to get involved with / learn about:
    - animal care
    - crafting and artisanal products (woodworking, wool-spinning, basketry, etc.)
    - food conservation (making jams and chutneys, pickling, fermenting, drying)
    - engaging the kids in activities on their level
    - ecological construction methods
    - building rocket stoves and mass heaters
    - marketing and communication
    - baking sourdough bread
    - driving the electric cargo bike
    - and plenty of other stuff!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers stay in a former barn, separate from the house of the owners. They live there as a small, self-sufficient community, together with the long-term volunteers, and share most meals with the owners.
    The accommodation is simple. Take into account that this kind of life takes a bit more time then in a house in the city. Compost toilets need to be emptied and sawdust supplies need to be filled. It takes more time to light a wood stove than it takes to turn on the gas. Vegetables need to be harvested and cleaned, before you can start preparing dinner. Laundry needs to be hung, water kettles and hot water bottles need to be filled, etc.
    If you want to try/share this kind of life for a while, this is your project. If not, it might be frustrating.

    Food
    Our food is:
    - seasonal (so no cucumbers in April, eggs in December or pumpkins in August),
    - local (so no coffee, chocolate or peanut-butter),
    - organic,
    - mostly vegetarian and low on milk products (but we have chickens for eggs and make some yoghurt from milk of a local farmer).
    - we cook most of the time on a woodstove

    We mostly have unprocessed products. We buy grains and legumes, and grow fruit, veggies and herbs. It’s up to volunteers to turn these into meals, bread spreads (jam, hummus, pesto, veggie pâté, etc.), and other tasty things like pickles or sauerkraut. We buy flour from a local mill using grain from local, organic farmers, and bake sourdough bread with it.

    Typically, there are oats and sourdough bread with home made jam for breakfast at eight, soup or salad and bread with home made spreads for lunch at twelve, fruit or smoothy in the afternoon and a cooked meal for diner around six. In the season, there are, of course, always fruits and berries to be picked from the land.

    Washing
    There is no hot shower. There’s an outdoor one with cold water. (Limited) hot water is available from the tap (solar heated) in the warm season and from the stove in the cold season, so you can wash yourself with warm water from a bucket. Some privacy for washing can be found in a small room, next to the kitchen.

    Heating
    Often only the kitchen is heated. The sleeping area is not. We have plenty of blankets and warm water bottles for wintertime.
    The wood-fired stove in the kitchen is heated once or twice per day for cooking and/or warmth. During this time it is possible to heat water for drinking and washing, which then can also be put into thermoses for later use.
    When it’s warm outside and the sun is shining the solar cooker can also be used to heat water.

    Sleeping
    You will more than likely have to share a room with other volunteers (depending on how many there are). Though, of course, you will have your own bed and some space for keeping your things. If more privacy is desired a curtain can probably we hung around your corner of the room. There is a meadow for tents, so if the weather is fine, you can bring your tent.

    Other things
    - We only invite non-smokers
    - There is wifi and a laptop
    - Compost toilets only
    - The dogs lick our plates after meal, before we wash them.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Flemish Ardennes is one of the most beautifull regions in Flanders, with a hilly and often surprising landscape.
    The place is easily reached with public transportation. A 10 min walk will take you to a bus stop, which will take you to a train station, which can take you directly to Brussels and Gent.
    At four kilometer, there is a small town with shops, swimming pool and library.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (4.5)


































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 13496985634c