Help me declutter and clean my home in Bulgaria (20 hours/week)

updated
Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Are you good at cleaning (and decluttering, tidying, washing, packing stuff into removal boxes)? I'll host you for 20 hours work per week instead of the usual 25.

    I'm about to buy a house in Bulgaria, and want to leave the house where I currently live (also in Bulgaria) in tiptop condition. I need help! :-)

    MARCH or APRIL

    Help me get my current abode nice and tidy before I move out. I'm near-hopeless with domestic tasks, so I'm hoping that you're an expert cleaner. If you can cook, I hope you'll take on the cooking as well, otherwise food will be mostly tossed salads. :-) DIY skills to help with small repairs would be useful too. You need to be reasonably fit (enough to climb a stepladder and dust the shelves under the ceiling, and to carry ready-packed boxes down the stairs into the basement).

    I live in Hisarya, which is is a lovely part of Central Bulgaria, below the Sredna Gora Mountain foothills in the Plovdiv Plain. Hisarya has a mild climate, hot mineral baths and mineral drinking fountains, and a lot of ancient Roman ruins. The city of Plovdiv - one of the nicest cities in the world, and 2019 European Capital of Culture - is one hour by bus away.

    The house is near the edge of the town, close to beautiful nature, but not remote. The neighbourhood has a village feel, and there are more chickens, goats, cows and cats passing this road than cars. The nearest shop is a 10-minute walk away, supermarkets and coffee shops 35 minutes, and the bus station a 45 minute walk.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    FROM MAY ONWARDS

    If all goes as planned, I'll move into my new home and welcome Workawayers there in the summer. The schedule is still uncertain, but I'll probably want self-motivated people to help me declutter the house, carry stuff, move in, do small renovations, DIY repairs, assemble flat-pack furniture, weed, garden, harvest, clean, cook, preserve fruit, forage in the forest, rebuild the boundary wall and more.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    About me: I'm a freelancer writer, eat mostly vegetarian food, and have cats. Since I'm new to WorkAway, I'd prefer to get an experienced WorkAwayer for my first experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hisarya is of historical interest (lots of ancient Roman remains and an archaeological museum). It's a spa town with many thermal mineral baths (you may want to visit the one the locals go to, and experience the traditional way). Plovdiv (European City of Culture 2019, with lots of music and art events) is 1 hour by bus.

  • Help

    Help

    Cleaning, tidying, laundry, shopping, cooking, gardening (depending on the weather) and DIY (if you have the skills).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent English, fluent German. Rusty French, very basic Bulgarian, a smattering of other languages

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a guest room (which I will declutter before your arrival) with two beds, so I could host a single Workawayer or a couple. The bathroom is shared. It's a typical Bulgarian bathroom, with a shower directly above the tiled floor), washbasin and toilet. I have a small oven/cooker, a fridge/freezer and a washing machine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time, you can go for walks in the mountain foothills, visit Plovdiv, explore ancient ruins, visit the local archaeological museum, drink water from the many natural mineral water spring fountains, soak in the thermal mineral water pools, or join the locals sipping coffee in the town centre's coffee shops.

    The town centre (where most of the bistros and shops are, and also the bus station) is about a 45 minute walk away.

    There are several buses daily to Plovdiv. The journey takes 1 hour. Buses also go to Karlovo and other destinations, but less frequently.

    In March, the weather is probably still cold, but mild, dry and sunny. In April, the weather is usually lovely.

    Internet in Bulgaria is generally excellent (though there are occasional disruptions).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours per week, flexible schedule.

Host ref number: 244427674225