Help us with homeschooling our three kids in Emgwenya, South Africa



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais



  • Descrição


    I'm American, my husband is Belgian and our kids were born in South Africa. We run Tegwaan Country Getaway, an eco-tourism accommodation business in Emgwenya, Mpumlanga. We homeschool our kids and need assistance tutoring them in English (grammar, spelling, reading, etc) following a curriculum that we are already using. The homeschool is based on Emgwenya (formerly Waterval Boven) which is the rock climbing capital of Africa! It is a small town set at the edge of the escarpment between the highveld and the lowveld - only 2.5 hrs to the famous Kruger National Park! Teaching is part time, only 3 hrs a day 4 days a week, and it comes with beautiful accommodation in one of the historic houses in town.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The Workaway traveller will get amazing experience living in a small town in South Africa, learning local customs and making new friends. Our town, lovingly called Boven, by most residents, is a diamond in the rough - with huge potential to make it grow economically as a tourism hub given it's location on a main road to Kruger, proximity to amazing outdoor adventures, and historical status as one of the original train towns. The Workaway traveller can get engaged in many other social and volunteer projects in the town as there is a lot of potential to have impact - one just needs an idea and a little bit of time!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    In our homeschool we have 3 kids ages 6, 9 and 10 - two of our kids and one from another family that we collaborate with. The curriculum is really creative and fun so we need someone who is organized, a good planner, a good communicator and good with kids. The curriculum pulls in different techniques from Waldorf, Reggio Emilia and is very interactive for the kids and the teacher. The tutor will be in charge of planning their week of assignments based on weekly recommendations from our curriculum, and ensuring the students understand the content before moving onto something else. For the older kids, we are starting to engage them in student-led learning so they have to take more ownership over what they learn and how / when they get their work done. For the younger child, it is more hands on.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    Fully furnished, 2 bedroom house - with living room and kitchen, set in a beautifully maintained garden with an active compost heap and veggie garden. The house shares a wall with the schoolhouse so the commute to "work" is only 10 seconds! The house is one of the historic houses built by the train company so is made from huge rocks imported from Europe.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    On your free time you can rock climb, mountain bike, fish, hike, go birding and generally enjoy the outdoors! Many weekend trips are available into Kruger, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) and the rest of the beautiful lowveld. Transport around town is possible on a bike, and for weekend trips it is possible to organize shuttles to the major city hubs.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    In your accommodation you have unlimited, good internet with a UPS so there is even internet when there is load shedding - if you haven't heard of load shedding, it's a special South African custom of turning of the electricity for a few hours a day!

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Small dogs are welcome :)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4 hrs a day, 4 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 936259151693


A backpackers/holiday lodge based near the wild coast, looking to host volunteers in East London, South Africa
Organic smallholding homestead in the Sunshine Coast, South Africa