Help our fun, friendly family in Auckland, New Zealand



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    A fun, friendly but chaotic family household - Vicki and Mike, our two daughters, Bea (aged 5) and Indie (2 years), and our two rabbits, Peter and Flopsy!

    Mike works as a web developer, and Vicki works at a local University 4 days a week and teaches Childbirth Education classes 1-2 nights a week. Bea is at school and Indie enjoys in-home childcare 4 days a week while Vicki is at work. Bea loves animals and wants to be a vet when she grows up. Indie loves dancing, eating and playing with anything she’s not supposed to have, like people’s mobile phones and sunglasses!!

    Life is very busy at the moment but when things calm down we enjoy the simple things in life such as family bike rides, walks, exploring Auckland and going to the cinema.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    In return for 5 hours of help per person per day, we can offer warm and cosy accommodation with bedding and towels provided, unlimited WiFi, and tasty home-cooked meals.

    Both vegetarians and meat eaters are welcome - Vicki is vegetarian/pescatarian (occasionally eat fish) and Mike and the girls eat meat, so we are used to catering for both vegetarians and meat eaters. Meat eaters please note though, we eat predominantly vegetarian meals so if you aren't happy to go meat free for a few days, then we're not the right hosts for you! Friday nights are pizza nights when we make homemade pizzas :)

    You would be welcomed into our home as part of our family and be included in our daily lives (if you want!) We can provide information about things to see and do in the area.

    We can help you with vocabulary and pronunciation if you are learning English (although we do need you to have at least moderate English language skills already.)

    We love meeting new people and learning about different cultures, traditions and food! The girls have enjoyed learning a few basic words in different languages :)

    So far, we have participated in 20 help/cultural exchanges and have had a lot of fun, and met some really cool people in the process - they came as guests and left as friends! We are looking forward to meeting our next visitors soon :)

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    Looking for friendly, relaxed and hard working workawayers to stay for up to 4 weeks.

    Come and stay in our private, warm and cosy cabin with your own TV, wifi, and hot drink making facilities :)

    The help we require may include:
    - General household duties (e.g cleaning and tidying, washing, shopping, food prep and cooking, making packed lunches, putting the rubbish out, cleaning and feeding our two rabbits, etc)
    - Childcare (e.g entertaining the kids, getting them fed, washed and dressed, baby sitting, walking Bea to and from school, etc.) Bea's an easy going soul but Indie is a typical 2 year old, so you must be confident with pre-schoolers! :)
    - Outdoor maintenance jobs (e.g. oiling the deck and wooden furniture, water blasting, touching up paintwork, etc.)
    - Gardening and landscaping (e.g general garden maintenance, trimming hedges, weeding, planting, etc.) If you have any garden design/landscaping experience we'd love to hear from you as we are about to start planning our garden.
    - DIY projects (e.g putting up fences, building a shed, building steps, etc with guidance from and/or working alongside Mike. This may include some manual labour/heavy lifting/shoveling.) If you don't mind manual labour, enjoy DIY or are a builder please get in touch as we'd love help completing some of these bigger projects.

    Generally we prefer that you take your days off during the week as we find that help with the kids and other jobs is often most helpful at weekends.

    Sometimes we may need some help every day (for example, 30 mins to make packed lunches each evening.) However, this would mean slightly shorter workdays on the following days so you would still only work a maximum of 25 hours each week per person. We are really flexible though - this is always by mutual agreement.

    We don't clock watch; we trust you to manage your own time! We expect you to let us know if you don't have enough work and need ideas of other jobs to complete, or if you're finding the work too much! Some days we might have specific tasks we'll ask you to complete, other days you can choose what you'd like to work on from a job list.

    We love proactive people who use their initiative to do jobs that they can see need doing :) We're very flexible - if you’d prefer to work some longer days and some shorter days, that’s generally fine - as long as any 'time specific' jobs are completed (for example, if we needed you to collect Bea from school.)

    We follow a ‘gentle parenting’ philosophy, and would expect guests to also treat the kids respectfully, kindly and empathetically. We choose to limit the children's screen time. You must therefore be happy to get down on the floor and play games, read, entertain and interact with the kids! We would prefer that you use your phone and computer in your free time please.

    Please note, if English is not your first language, you must have at least moderate English language skills - you must be able to hold a conversation and understand written and verbal instructions in English.

    If you are interested in applying, please get in touch and let us know how you can help with the above jobs. Please also advise if there are any jobs listed above that you wouldn't feel comfortable doing.

    We hope to hear from you soon! :)

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    In late 2018 we completed building and decorating our cabin, with the assistance of a number of different Workaway guests, so you will have your own private, warm and cosy accommodation with sofa bed, kettle, TV, etc. See our photos for a picture of the cabin.

    Bathroom, lounge and kitchen facilities are located in the main house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Within walking distance are lovely bush walks, a nice cafe, a couple of takeaway outlets and a "dairy" (an NZ convenience store!) We are close to bus routes if you'd like to go further afield such as to Auckland City Centre or Takapuna.

    Just a 5 minute drive away are shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, supermarkets, etc. Within 5-30 minutes by car are cool bush walks, reserves, beaches, Auckland CBD, Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, Auckland Zoo, Auckland War Memorial Museum, MOTAT, the Sky Tower etc. We are a 45 minute drive from the airport.

    We have bikes, a double kayak and a stand-up paddle board which are available to borrow!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours a week/5 hours a day per person

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 854176813977

Comentário (10)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Help at a registered non-profit retreat centre overlooking Lake Taupo, New Zealand.
General help around my home and garden in Auckland, New Zealand