Take part in the life of a Sami reindeer-herding family in northern Norway

Country

Noruega

Favorito 117 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    16/11/2022

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a family of 5 who live with hundreds of reindeer and 2 dogs. We are in our 40s with kids 2, 4 & 6 yrs. We belong to the indigenous people of Scandinavia called Saami. We live in Norway but speak a different language and have another set of cultural habits and values than Norwegians. We are flexible and open-minded and used to different nationalities, since we run a tourism business during the winter-months. Reindeer needs to be looked after all year around so we hope you can assist us with herding and all the varied other tasks that follow this lifestyle. We are moving between 3-4 different locations within a year cycle, located quite remote but with cities like Hammerfest (30min), Alta (2h) or Tromsø (1h) in a close distance (at different times of the year, depending on where the reindeer/we are).

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Our place is in the Arctic - which means seasons with midnight sun and northern lights. These natural phenomenons are definitely worth a visit to the high north. Therefore be prepared to experience something unique! Norway is an expensive country to live and travel in so this is an opportunity to make your traveling cheaper while also learning some new skills and get to know an ancient culture still depending on primitive livelihoods. Get close to nature and learn secrets of surviving in really rough conditions.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    What we hope from you: You should love to work both with animals and humans. Expect to do physical work due to snow (winter) and maintenance (spring-summer-autumn). Good physical condition and being able of lifting weights up to at least 20 kg is an advantage. You should love the cold because temperatures can drop down to -30 C and we have to look after the reindeer in all kinds of weather. You enjoy a varied working day where everything is not necessarily planned in detail.

    You have a “yes-I-can-do-it”-attitude and a good sense of humor to survive the long and dark polar nights or an endless daylight season. A laid-back and patient personality accompanied by a deep sense of responsibility is good to have. You also need a high level of tolerance towards less than luxurious working and living conditions.
    Language skills: Scandinavian or English. European driving License class B and/or experience with snowmobile/ATV is a plus.

    We prefer people who are willing to stay for quite some time (months) since this gives us time to get to know each other better, and it will give you a good idea of how living in very varied seasons and living situations can be. Couples could be perfect candidates since we have typical "soft" tasks and outdoor/physical tasks needing extra set of hands. We can provide clothes for working outdoors in the cold season.

    We are ready to offer additional monetary payment should the work exceed the expected voluntary working hours.

  • Idiomas

    Norwegian: Fluente
    Sami: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Different types of standards and locations. From a collective cabin with one bedroom and no installed water nor electricity to bigger houses with separate bedrooms and everything of modern installations. Foods will often be shared meals but if you have very specific dietary preferences or allergies you probably have to prepare your own dinners and meals in general. We don't encourage strict vegans/vegetarians to apply since this type of diet is hard to obtain in this rural countryside. We often cook meats and fish for dinner.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Again, the Great Outdoors! Since we move between different locations and areas you will be able to experience many beautiful regions and landscapes and practice many types of outdoor activities. There are also several interesting festivals and events to visit in this region, at different times of the year. Collective/public transport is not super available but we can help with planning transport around here and there in the region.
    If you are not driving your own car, getting here is most convenient by taking the flight (from Oslo) to Alta or Tromsø. Traveling this far north would take many days if you use a combination of train (to Narvik or Bodø) and public-buses from there on.\

    We read emails weekly and can most often be reached by phone.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 756218283355