Join me and help make the Tinglum farm come back to life - in Namdalseid, Norway

  • Noruega
  • Favorito 538 vezes
  • Última atividade: 31/01/2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês



  • Descrição


    Come, live and enjoy the beautiful Norwegian farm life. I am 36 years old and recently moved back to Norway after living in the US. The farm is my family farm where I grew up, and the location has been in my family's ownership for over 300 years. This is the perfect place to go fishing in the lakes, the rivers, and the ocean, hunting moose, deer, and birds in the fall, and enjoying the snow and skiing in winter. In the spring and summer, it's all about making sustainable food and growing flowers and vegetables, caring for the animals and preparing for a new winter, trying to become as self-sufficient as possible.

    The Tinglum farm is situated in the middle of Norway, about 2h drive north of the regional capital, Trondheim, in the village of Namdalseid. The farm is beautifully set in a valley overlooking a small river and with beautiful views of the mountains and the sunset. I live here with my Norfolk Terrier dog, Liam, and about 100 egglaying chickens, three turkeys, and 9 goats.

    I would love your company and help!

    A little bit more about me: I just moved back to Norway after spending 6 years in the US. In december of 2020 I had a pretty bad car accident in Florida, and had internal head injuries that was making it hard for me to continue the high level of work that I was doing in the states (Being a business trainer/consultant and running my own design firm and combining that with clients I worked with on nutrition and health) and was also making my capacity of just doing everyday normal tasks a little limited, that combined with a rough breakup and separation from my long-term husband from the states, made a move back to Norway the best decision to take. I needed the escape and a route to get some space, calm and time to heal / and what is more perfect that doing that back on the family farm!! I moved back in May of 2021, and have since been renovating and making the farm come out of a 20year slumber. It is super exciting for me to see my childhood and family farm come back to life! My healing is going very well, and I am now back to working full time.

    The help I am looking for is divided into three categories:
    1) Day to day: The general upkeep of the farm, the buildings, the animals and the garden. This would include taking care of the chickens, turkeys and goats, cutting the lawn, doing gardening, taking care of the food preparation, cleaning and general housekeeping to keep the house nice for everyone. I also have quite a bit of traveling planned for the next few months, and being the caretakers of the farm while Im gone will be appreciated.
    2) Larger projects: I also have quite a few bigger projects that would be GREAT to do this season. One example is that I want to build another outdoor space/greenhouse (we already buildt one last season, and its is FANTASTIC! Now we need to build another.
    3) I want company. Im used to not be alone, and also used to the life in NYC, London and Oslo, and I am now all by myself, and would like to go hiking, biking, paddling, fishing etc with a group of new friends.

    I did my first season of workaway after I got back from the US in May of 2021, and I have had the BEST experience getting to know my new friends. From June 2021 to September 2021, I had 15 workawayers staying with me at the farm, most stayed 3-4 weeks, but I invited some to stay for almost 3 months. At the busiest, we were 9 people at the same time!! Such fun times!
    For the second season we ramped things up a little bit. I have had several returnees come back to stay for short vacations and for longer periods this past year and a whopping 45 workawayers were helping out on the farm from March-December 2022. I didnt think we could replicate the wonderful first season, but we sure did - and had a blast doing it. I cannot wait to have more returnees come back and to see new workawayers come to help out on the farm this season!!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learning old Norwegian traditions and reviving the survival skills needed to sustain a farm, with making and preparing food, maintaining the buildings, and taking care of the animals.
    I am fluent in Norwegian and English.

  • Ajuda


    Your help with everyday life on the farm is very much appreciated. This would include taking care of the animals, gardening, carpentry, painting and also some clearing out stuff from the main house and barn and making the farm better. I also have three cabins, a lake cabin, a mountain cabin and a forest cabin, that all need general upkeep and some love!

    The farm and stay here with me is ideal for a single individual, a couple or a group of friends who like to take time out from the stress of a city to enjoy the Spring / Summer / Fall in the rural farmlands of Norway.

    There is a vast number of tasks that CAN be done, so the stay will very much be adapted to your skills, wants and where you want to use your or gain more experience in. The following is a list of specific items that can be part of your stay with me:
    Developing the chicken coop, as we always try to make the life of the chickens bigger and better!
    Building, developing, and maintaining the vegetable garden. We have vast flower beds, 8 vegetables garden boxes, a strawberry field that needs to be remade and also vegetable fields for potatoes, carrots, beets etc.
    Developing and maintaining the fruit trees and making jams and sauces. And in the fall produce cider from the apples.
    Renovating bedrooms with painting, building, furnishing, wallpapering etc.
    Fishing in the ocean, rivers, and lakes. Net fishing, pole fishing and boat fishing are possible.
    Picking wild berries. Raspberries and cloudberries are abundant.
    Picking mushrooms, I am an avid forager and have been a mushroom specialist for years.
    We are also growing mushrooms in the basement on the farm, and thinking about starting to cultivate to sell at the local markets.
    We are building a second greenhouse and will need to take good care of it and the contents.
    We are replacing the dock at our mountain cabin,
    Renovating and sprucing up the forest cabin,
    Painting the barn and fixing some siding etc there.
    I also want to build a nicer outside space in the garden.
    And maybe build a smoker to smoke meats, a hottub for the colder days and some cool small projects like that.
    Also thinking about producing honey (getting bees), making goat cheese, and maybe getting more animals.
    My dog, Liam, is a show dog, and you can help train him and make him show-ready.
    I love to cook and try new recipes, so if you are into cooking you will find the old cookbooks from my great-grandmother enthralling.

    There is no need for any particular skills prior to coming. All you need is your smile and good mood :-)
    Though, if you do have a specific skill, that will for sure be put to use, if you want to!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    The house is from 1960, and not many updates have been done over the years. Its comfortable, but not luxurious. You will have your own private room in the main house, you can choose from one of the 8 bedrooms in the house. There are three bathrooms and an additional toilet on the first floor. We will make communal meals together. You can also use the kitchen to make your own food, but eating together is part of the best experience. High-speed wifi is available throughout the house. In short, it's comfortable but not luxurious.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    You will have access to the forest, mountain and the lake cabin not too far away from the farm. Nature is right around the corner! The farm is secluded, and there isn't much to do around (the closest town is 30min by car away).
    I have my car that you can use If you need, or I can take you as well if that works.
    We also have some old bikes on the farm that you can use.
    I do not accept smokers and my farm is a drug-free zone.
    I am looking for adults in their late 20s and thirties from all over the world with all different backgrounds!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    You can totally stay on the farm and be a digital nomad. I have high-speed fiber connection and mesh-wifi throughout the house. I am also working online doing training workshops for entrepreneurs and working with my nutrition clients, and would love to collaborate on projects I am working on as well.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have all the space needed to host your car or van!

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Would love to have another dog here, so feel free to bring yours! Other pets might not work out, but ask.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 354144147974

Comentário (14)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Join us at our place a few meters from the ocean and help with lots of fun projects in beautiful Tromsø, Norway
Beautiful smallholding on the island of Engeløya, Norway