1 / 5

Help out in the garden and with DIY projects in Mustin, Northern Germany

  • Alemanha
  • Favorito 26 vezes
  • Última atividade: 09/11/2022

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I’m Laura and I live in a cute village surrounded by lakes and nearby woods. My house is small, but I have a huge, jungle like garden.
    My ten adorable, tame chickens that you can pet and do tricks with live in the back end of the garden. It is the most relaxing thing ever to lie in the hammock under the apple tree and hear them clucking and scratching around you! Klopper the rooster is a huge teddy and likes a good neck massage: he will literally fall asleep in your arms when you do that :) My cat is also always up for a cuddle session once he warms up to new people. The hedgehog living in the hedge comprised of dead tree branches might say hello too once in a while.

    Mid September to mid November is high season for apples, and as I work at an organic “cidery” (Mosterei)/ apple farm nearby I will work 10-12 hours a day and will need a little help in my garden. You might get some paid work there also, but I am not the one to decide that.

    If you fancy wood sculpturing or painting feel free to get creative, I’m well stocked :)

    Please tell me a bit about yourself and let’s chat a bit so we can see that it would fit on both ends. Looking forward to hearing from you!

    P.S.: I’m fully vaccinated, hope you are too - if not, please inform yourself of the local/national rules…

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I have lived in many different countries and miss meeting people from all over the world. I speak English and French fluently, some Swedish.
    I used to be a German language and culture teacher to refugees, so if interested...
    I'm no pro, but if you are interested I'd be happy to wood sculpture or paint with you. I'm also not very experienced in building structures out of living trees, an art with German historic roots, but I guess we can learn together!
    During the next few months I will help out at several open air art openings in the area and you are most welcome to join and meet interesting people and ideas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    As I said, high season at my work at the apple farm is approaching soon, where I will have to work quite a lot and I would need support in harvesting and taking care of my vegetable garden, maybe cooking tomato sauces from the tomatoes and preserving them, harvesting hazelnuts and apples, mowing the lawn and the like that don’t take up too much time.
    I love to cook and trying out new (elaborate) recipes, however if it gets too busy at work maybe you wouldn't mind filling in from time to time?

    I do have a few DIY projects though that I would still love to accomplish this year and it would be great if we could do them together:

    • Laying paving stones under the roofed area behind the garden house (so that if necessary your fridge can go
    there or a sauna if I can get one)
    • building a compost toilet
    • Building an open shed for bikes, preferably with a living wall (tree sculpturing and moss gravity)
    • New roof above the front door
    • Maybe build a tree house in the weeping willow?
    • Cutting all the dead branches from the huge cherry tree
    • Creating a barefoot trail
    - solar powered dryer for herbs, veg and fruits

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Swedish: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I love learning new languages, but in all fairness I might not have the time. I'm more than happy to give you study tips, correct you and talk to you in low level German accompanied by sign language to make understanding easier if you fancy learning German.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A bit off the main house and out of view is a cosy wooden garden house with huge windows that shall be yours during your stay. It is fully furnished, with a bed, reading nook and coffee table, shelves and small, simple kitchen counter with a coffee maker, kettle and electric cooker if you don’t fancy going into the kitchen in the house. There is a sink for washing without soap in the nearby tree (but also a proper bathroom and dish washer in the house). If you fancy installing the spare hammock as a way of couch I'm all for it.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    My village Mustin is about an hour or so from Hamburg - Hamburg public transport still takes you here, with hourly buses to the nearest small town of Ratzeburg (6km), founded by the vikings. The historic and very scenic city of Lübeck is also about an hour away on public transport, as is the Baltic Sea.
    You can choose from one of my three bikes for exploring the area. I have a brand new inflatable canoe, happy to drive you to a lake of your choice.
    The former inner German border is right outside the village, offering great hiking trails. Swimming, canoeing, kayaking or rowing are possible on the many lakes or rivers nearby and the local archery club is very welcoming.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    There is no internet connection in the garden house where you will be staying - if you have a receiver you are welcome to install it though! I haven't had the mind to look into it, and as this is my first time offering up the garden house to stay for people other than my friends it hasn't been necessary. You are welcome to use my wifi on the house terrace or in the living room while I am at work though.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    An about 6m campervan would fit in my driveway. You might be able to drive past the house, so you are not living right next to the - albeit small - street...maybe you can even drive past the big cherry tree behind the house into the back garden, but nobody has tried it yet.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I love dogs. BUT: Only if it is guaranteed that he or she is not hunting my beloved chicken. Or that I step barefoot in their poopoo. If you have other pets, just ask.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 714875472195

Fotos

Comentário

Help with animals in Schwangau, Germany
Come and help us with finish the interior of the house on La Palma, Canaries