Learn to brew homemade beer and help us with daily life in Traben-Trarbach, Germany

  • Alemanha
  • Favorito 383 vezes
  • Última atividade: 30 nov. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo



  • Descrição


    We are Inga, Florian and Philea. We have recently moved to Traben-Trarbach in an old house and are busy with all the possible jobs. Inga is a web developer (in home office), Florian is a social worker, and Philea is an energetic toddler. Philea was born in September 2019. So you can count her age by the moment of your possible stay.
    We are expecting a new member of the family by December 2023.

    We really appreciate someone with cooking skills!

    We prioritise requests from workawayers who can stay for at least one month. Minimum required is two weeks stay. But the longer the better :)

    In spring and summer there is a lot to do in the garden. When the weather is good, it is very pleasant to stay outside.
    During winter we will do some preparation work for the garden: building and preparing patches, cleaning up old plants, planning and experimenting with landscape, upcycling pallettes.
    We also need help with further renovations in one room and in our storage house.
    We brew our own beer (in small amounts for private consume). And we have lots of friends visiting us every other weekend. We are active in couchsurfing, bewelcome and warm showers. So we often have guests.

    We'll ask you to do some babysitting 1-2 evenings in a week. Picking up Phili from the kindergarten might be a task for long term workawayers. Playing with her, teaching some stuff.
    Phili understands quite a lot of English, because most of our workawayers speak primarily English with her. So if you don't speak German, no worries, it has always worked so far.

    Weekends are usually the busiest days for workawayers, because either we can show you lots of stuff that needs to be done, or we want to rest and the workawayers have take over the child care, or we have a brewing day, or a day of bottling the beer. During summer season we also have a few rental rooms and have lots of work preparing them for guests for weekends. During the time we are busy you would also need to take care of our daughter. Just to note, that volunteers will not be asked to assist with any business activities, including but not limited to helping with paying rental guests, such as checking them in or out.

    Workdays are usually relaxed for workawayers as we work and Phili goes to the kindergarden. Sometimes, when Phili gets sick we need more support with child care during workdays. Such cases are compensated by pausing all other projects, unfortunately.

    We would be very happy to have people who have some experience with renovations and gardening. At the moment we are renovating a room for guests. There are lots of potential upcycling projects. Landscaping the garden is a big wish. Next we might start to repair the walls of our storage house. Helping hands are welcome!

    If you stay with us, we try to make it feel like a "Wohngemeinschaft" (aka WG); everyone does his part of work to make living together comfortable, cosy and fun.

    A couple of years ago we were world travellers and a bit nomads ourselves. In 2013-14 we have spent one year hitchhiking through South America. We have been all around Europe. We lived four months in South-East Asia working remotely and travelling. We were sleeping in a tent and couchsurfing to save money while travelling. And we were workawayers ourselves twice during our South American adventure. We can share lots of stories, advice and experience. We are happy to host travellers now to receive a glimpse of adventures we once undertook ourselves.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Lately our brewing days happen rather rarely. We bought an extra pot which gives us possibility to produce triple amount from what we had before. Therefore, we cannot guarantee that brewing happens during your stay. We brew now about four times a year, usually in spring and autumn. But we will definitely manage to organise a tasting if you are interested.

    You can practice your German with us, especially with Phili. We also speak English of course.

    Frankfurt-Hahn airport (former Ryanair base) is just 20 minutes drive away. Ryanair still has quite a few flights to Latvia, Spain, Portugal, Italy. 1-2 times a month we can plan a longer weekend for you, like 3-5 days in a row, so that you can take a short trip somewhere further away, like a trip to Belgium with a train or a flight to Riga.
    There is a lot to do in the surroundings and lots of cities to visit nearby. So you won't be bored.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    Our daughter goes to a kindergarten until 4pm. Afterwards, she goes to her grandparents. We need someone to play with her or go to the play ground nearby when she comes back around 6pm.
    We are also happy to have people with gardening skills. Some help in house renovation is also appreciated: painting walls, moving furniture, etc. Cleaning can also be done. It is all pretty flexible. We will see according to your skills and wishes.
    There are certain tasks that you cannot avoid, that are mostly connected to the household. We try, however, to share the responsibilities fairly and have weekly cleaning scheduled tasks that also we (hosts) are responsible for. Some household tasks, like emptying dishwasher, for example, are Workaway responsibilities only.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Russo: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    You will share a room with other workawayers. We usually host two-four workawayers at the same time.

    Shared room is a hostel style room with two normal beds and a foldable couch. You also have an option of sleeping on a good mattress (20 cm high) that lies on the floor. The room is simple, but quite spacious.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a lot to do in the region. Most popular activities here are hiking and cycling. We often go for trips with our car on weekends, so you can join us.
    You can travel easily with a train to Trier, Luxemburg, Koblenz, Cologne.
    If you are looking for flights to get to us, check out connections to Frankfurt-Hahn first. We can easily pick you up from there with a car. (Don't mix it up with Frankfurt international.)

    Then check Luxembourg and Cologne, from there you can easily reach Traben-Trarbach by train.

    Frankfurt international is not the best, but also possible option. It will take longest to get from there to us by train, about 4 hours.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Inga works online herself. We have a decent wifi connection.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 838344472614

Comentário (16)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Help early-retired happy slightly disabled world-traveller around home and explore Munich and Bavaria, Germany
Help in every day life and - if wanted- in our canoe rental during coming summer near Lüneburg, Germany