Help us to restore watermills and with gardening in Souto da Casa, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 14 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    03/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My wife and I recently purchased a large farm in Central Portugal. It’s 15 hectares with a mix of forestry and terraces. There are multiple ruins and old water mills that we plan to restore. We want to return the property to its original glory. For this, we are looking for help from a passionate and hard working person, someone who will be able to work alongside us.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will be able to see and experience first hand what it was like to live hundreds of years ago in our very own little village. The stone buildings and terrace walls allow you to visualize all of the hard work and determination there was to create this place. We live in a cozy village where many of the local villagers have welcomed us and show us their way of life. Learning how to dry stack stone walls, or restoring the old aqueduct to get the water mills working again.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Our goals for this property is to create a permaculture farm. We want to reintroduce livestock such as chickens, ducks, geese, sheep, goats, etc. We will need to design and construct shelters for the animals, install fences for safety. We will be installing a greenhouse and market garden. We have plans for irrigation systems and aquaponics in the future. There is an abundance of water in the property and we want to harness every drop possible. We will be installing an outdoor mushroom farm as well.
    For the ruins, we plan to restore and modernize while keeping with the traditional look. Solar power, passive solar home design, and the most exciting project, restoring the watermills as electric generators. There will be a lot of stone and carpentry work needed.
    We are looking for someone who will want to be involved in these types of projects. Anyone interested in livestock, farming, building, restoring or even video production to help document our project. We are willing to teach skills in exchange for you to teach us some of your skills. We will love to meet an honest and hard working person. Speaking Portuguese is a huge plus but not required.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We need to learn more Portuguese and in exchange we can teach English.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodations include a private room with a memory foam mattress and a balcony overlooking the village and mountains in a modern home (well insulated/heated/flush toilet/hot showers). Other amenities include fiber internet, fresh and healthy meals, and a clothes washer. Although we're in the country a large city is only a five minute drive with a huge farmers market every Monday. There's also a restaurant within walking distance and a cafe/bar across the street. There’s also a great vegan restaurant a few minutes drive away.

    As far as your stay; we are pretty laid back and flexible. We work during the days that the weather permits. So when it's raining or too cold we limit our work outside. We normally have a slow morning with a coffee and a great breakfast before we head out to the land once it warms up a bit outside. We try to work between 4-5 hours per day up to 5 days per week.

    We provide 2 large meals per day m, breakfast and dinner, as well as snacks throughout the day. We have a love for cooking gourmet food and love to make family meals for everyone to enjoy. We are omnivores and usually have meat in every meal. However, we try to offer a vegetarian friendly option or provide plenty of veggies and beans for vegetarians to make their own meals.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are a number of hiking trails in the area. We are happy to provide a ride if you don't have your own transportation as long as its within a 15-30 minute drive. We love to visit Castelo Novo just a few minutes away. We are not far from the Aldeias de Xisto with a number of schist villages that are a part of the dark skies project.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have high speed fiber internet in our apartment.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 572552466749