Come and join our permaculture and off-grid project in Sabugal, Portugal

Country

Portugal

atualizado  

Favorito 474 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    09/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    97.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    About me:
    Hi! My name is Carlos, I'm 43 and I'm portuguese. I grew up in Montijo, I went to college in Lisbon to study computer sciences and I started to work as a programmer. 6 years later I started to feel meaningless and took a leave of absence. I did volunteer work in organic farms in Sweden and France and went to Thailand to teach English in a public school in a small village. I came back to give a second chance to my job but after 3 years I decided to quit for good. Already with some land in the countryside of Portugal I started a journey in Portugal for one year to know about eco-farming and permaculture. It was hard to settle down in my primitive place so I went back to Thailand to the same school wishing to help those children in their English and football skills. Three years ago I came to establish and develop my land. I planted some trees, made some vegetable patches, produced cider, wine, olive oil, jams, I dried figs, tomatos and apples, etc.. The next year I did it all better with the help of nice volunteers and the last year was slower for obvious reasons. I'm a quiet person but I really enjoy to use my human qualities in a group.
    I'll be back to programming work remotly from my farm in March 2022. I'm not sure if I'll be able to manage everything but I will try. I wish to develop the living coditions of my project so everyone feels more confortable around here.

    About the project:
    I bought this land in 2014 while I was still working in Lisbon. After a short attempt in 2016, I finally settled down in 2018. In 2019 a fire burnt half of the land and the house was safe by millimeters. I took it like I should continue this project but carefully.
    My idea is to become as much self-sufficient as possible while helping nature to thrive and to share a possible solution for the problems humanity will face in this planet. For me, permaculture is the best answer for a lot of the current problems. There's still a lot to improve. I believe it's a good place for who's thinking how to start their own because we're still dealing with the first challenges. And it's a great learning to go throught all the processes. Money here is definitely not the priority. Restoring diversity and keeping people happy are the most important. I'm open for your ideas and creative skills. This is a great place to find peace and slow down.

    These are the main goals for this project at a long term:
    - Produce own food, energy
    - Create a community with volunteers
    - Outdoor cafe with natural products shop
    - Eco buildings to rent like Wood Cabin, Yurt, Choça (google it), Strawbale house
    - Other ideas that come up :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    This is a remote region in Portugal. The food is more authentic than in the urban centers and people keep some traditions expressed in events and fairs. I also buy products to the locals that can still make a good fresh goat cheese or homemade wine. I can tell you about portuguese culture, my travels, permaculture and other philosofical ideas. I'm curious to know about yours too.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I keep a list of tasks to share with you. I started to work remotly again this last March so I'll be joining the volunteers in two of the 5 weekly days .Might be work outside or some improvements in the living conditions. There will always be something to pick from. Or other with higher priority like collecting wood or harvest some fruit, cooking, watering. We'll also have sheep, chickens and bees to take care.

    Here are the main harvests, products and general tasks:


    Feb/Mar: Wine Bottling. Olive trees prunning.
    Abr/Mai: Preparation of irrigation systems. Sowing of summer vegetables.
    Jun/Jul: Tomatos to dehydrate/chutney/souce. Trees' watering. Camomile to dry.
    Aug/Sep: Tomatos. Figs to dry. Blackberries for jam, liquor and syrup. Grapes for wine and sweet wine. Apples for cider and dehydrate. Wood storage. Trees' watering.
    Oct/Nov: Chestnuts. Quinces for marmalade. Seed collection. Trees plantation. Mulching.
    Dez: Olives for oil and preserve. Deodorant. Seed sowing.
    Jan: Vacations :)

    We also produce kombucha all year round flavoured with what's abundant at the time and sow/plant the seasonal vegetables.

    Upcoming Projects:
    *️️️️️ Chicken Electric fence
    * Mini hydro generator
    *️️️️️ Works at home (insulation with straw, front porch floor, roof wood insulation)
    *️️️️️ Pond extension
    *️️️️️ Clay Oven
    *️️️️️ A-frame cabin

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante
    Thai: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    My small shed allows that one or two more people sleep in a matress in the mezzanine. I also have a tent outside where usually couples prefer to stay.

    The electricity comes from solar panels and the water from springs. We usually use wood for cooking but there's a gas backup. I have a compost toilet and a solar handmade heater. In the winter we heat the water with a wood stove. We prepare the meals together. It would also be nice if volunteers could bring more natural hygiene products since we don't have a normal sewage system.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The transports here are not good but I have a car. During the summer we go almost every day to some river beach or a beautiful lake in the afternoons where we swim or fish. Historical villlages with stone houses and organic markets are also places I would like to take you. There are plenty of hiking routes that I would like to share.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.9)











Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 543453243425