Restore soil, grow vegetables and manage the forest and infrastructure for self-sufficiency near Aljezur, Portugal

  • Favorito 1354 vezes
  • Última atividade: 17 abr. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês



  • Descrição


    *Before you continue, we have a 4 week minimum stay*
    Hi I'm Nathaniel. My girlfriend Diana and I live on this little farm which has a very lucky location, with breath taking views to the highest Algarvian mountains, close to the beautiful beach of Amoreira and river but also close to the historic town of Aljezur.

    This this project started only a few years ago and we are still in the process of restoring the house and creating a small self sufficient vegetable garden, fruiting forest and small eco rental accommodation (to help fund the project). The long term goal here is to try to restore the native woodlands, improve soil quality and create a diverse ecosystem that will provide food. We are passionate about nature, both in helping it and enjoying it.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We're no experts but always aim to share the knowledge and experience we have acquired.

    I can teach English, a little Portuguese and Spanish and more fun skills like surfing, Skating (longboards) and Aikido (self defence) when I have spare energy.

  • Ajuda


    The chores here are varied. There is plenty of help needed around the house, the vegetable gardens, forestry, maintenance and, occasionally, construction and landscaping.

    Tasks could include:-
    -Weeding and clearing land
    -Chopping and gathering firewood
    -Shredding leaves/branches in the machine.
    -Cooking and cleaning.
    -Planting/harvesting vegetables and baby trees.
    -Assisting with carpentry projects
    -Painting and decorating
    -Building traditional stone walls

    We are always interested in people with skills in building, gardening, carpentry, engineering and agriculture. Don't worry, even if you feel that you don't necessarily excel in the above skills but are a very practical responsible person, we can teach and you can be of great help.

    Our usual routine is 3 days per week so we can have more free time. We meet for a quick chat at 08:30 and work until 12:30 (Starting times can vary throughout the year as seasons change to avoid being too cold/hot.

    To maintain a hygienic and pleasant space for everyone you're expected to clean after yourself and take turns emptying the compost toilet etc. Please be aware that there is no smoking allowed on the farm.

    Personally we try to eat a healthy mostly a plant based diet from food grown either on site or by other local farmers. because volunteers are only asked to help 12 hours you will need to buy and prepare your own food unless joining for the occasional group meal at the house.

    Once per week we aim to have an optional big communal lunch together. We ask for 3€ to cover ingredients if people want to join. We have the option for someone who loves cooking to prepare the meal (and clean after). In exchange that person can finish land work 1 hour early and doesn't pay towards the ingredients. We provide all the ingredients and the use of the house kitchen + many herbs & spices.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Português: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I'm a polyglot and love learning bits from every language. I'm collecting ways to say "thank you". I can remember 25 on a good day. :)

  • Acomodação


    We will endeavour to make peoples stay as pleasant as possible with an efficient solar powered hot shower, clean and tidy compost toilet, a dedicated 6mx3m kitchen/lounge in the woods, all gas, water, electric and internet are provided and there's a tranquil environment to relax in after helping.

    You will need a sleeping bag/pillow, good strong working boots, BIODEGRADABLE SHAMPOO/SOAPS, clothes you don't mind being dirty or breaking and maybe a torch for finding the toilet in the night. Between October and April you may need a rain coat just in case. No shoes to be worn inside.

    Our humble accommodation is in our woodland with a shared kitchen/lounge hut. It can vary from a bed in the shared volunteer caravan, a small personal caravan or a tent. We have 2 hard standing spaces for camper vans.

    We provide a couple of bicycles for our volunteers (to be kept clean and stored at night) and we sometimes take people on trips for fun activities or to explore local beaches and markets if people feel like joining us.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are in the heart of the Vicentina national park. The town of Aljezur is only 15 minutes by bicycle (30 walking) and the beach around 20 minutes.

    The old town of Aljezur and castle are magnificent and there are many little cafes.

    In your time off, if your budget allows, we can help you arrange other activities like horse riding, paddle boarding excursions, yoga classes etc.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have an unusually rare fast fibre internet connection for such a remote and rural location. Internet reaches the volunteer camp via power-line adaptors and is plenty fast enough for HD video streaming and conference calls.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Depending on current volunteer numbers we can accept up to 2 campers/caravans on our hard standing areas in the pine woods next to our communal kitchen.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    12 hours per week, no food provided.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 619141422718

Comentário (44)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Gardening, construction and alternative living in a community near Porto, Portugal
Animal care and other daily tasks while enjoying peace and nature in Charnequinhas, Portugal