Caretaker and gardener- Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica

  • Costa Rica
  • Favorito 183 vezes
  • Última atividade: 28/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My name is Josh (Josue), and I live in Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre in the Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica. Gateway to Corcovado NP, jungle meets the ocean, not touristy, and a little blast from the blast.

    I am looking for someone to caretake and sleep at night on the property, during the day you are free the majority of time unless we have a guest arriving, not so often. There is plenty of gardening/maintenance to do in our rainy season, (June-November). A single person, A couple, or friends traveling together would be the perfect situation, Staying by yourself can get a little boring and solitary after a couple weeks. Couples have been suited for our isolated environment. I prefer experienced volunteers who understand the positives and negatives of volunteering. Unfortunately, first time volunteers have not always been successful.

    The property is located in Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre in the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica. Please research our town on the internet as we are off the between path and do not have all the conveniences of the modern world but are blessed with the nature that surrounds us.

    Dos Brazos borders the world renowned Corcovado National Park, the reason I came to Costa Rica 17 years ago. This is not your average little town. It is off the beaten path and a tight knit community with very little to offer as far as supplies. There is little to no cellular signal, no real store, restaurant or place to hang out. You need to be a very self sufficient to be interested in this position. Spanish and English are a necessity and 1month minimum stay.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are located on the border of one of the most biodiverse places on the planet, Corcovado National Park, in the Osa peninsula of Costa Rica. IF you like nature and being off the beating path you will be more than pleasantly surprised by unplugging from the hustle and bustle from city life and enjoying the simpler life.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Generally speaking afternoons from 1-5pm and sleeping on the property as nighttime caretaker.

    General work: gardening, overall property maintenance, feeding dogs, water plants and meet guests as needed.

    Gardener -
    Weeding (with your hands), Trimming, picking up debris, lots of fun with wheel-barrel disposing of debris, planting, caring for plants, getting dirty and having fun with the ants!

    There are spaces for other areas as well
    horticulturist / farmer
    Birder/Orinthologist
    Plant Biologist specific to the tropics
    Orchid grower


    FOOD
    We purchase the food and you are responsible for cooking your own meals if preparation is necessary.
    I have two full time jobs and do not always have a set schedule to eat, thus you need to be self-sufficient in preparing your own food. I purchase the food and all the basics that you would need.

    Typical breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Breakfast: Eggs, toast with jelly or peanut butter, and fresh fruits. Coffee or tea.
    Lunch - your on your own
    Dinner - Rice and Beans

    Please email with questions - I will try to get back to you within 48 hours.

    Thank you - Josh

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    ACCOMODATION:

    In the garden we there are 3 roofed and semi walled outdoor cabanas. It is not luxurious but newly built and definitely more than adequate. You will be pleasantly surprised with your living area as there is a large multi-use octagonal building to rest and relaxing with bathrooms, showers and small kitchen. You would possibly share the Cabana with another volunteer/guest if traveling single.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The bus from San Jose to Puerto Jimenez is 8+ hours, then taxi/collectivo from Puerto Jimenez to Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre is a 20 minute drive. I am also often in Puerto Jimenez and my be available to pick you up.

    Please purchase all food items and supplies you will need prior to arriving. Drinking water is in Dos Brazos is very clean and safe to drink.

    I highly advise you to research the Osa peninsula, Puerto Jimenez, Corcovado NP and specifically our town Dos Brazos de Rio Tigre.

    IF you are a person that needs to stay connected and uses your cell phone a lot this is not the place for you. We have limited internet and cell phone reception and much of the time nothing.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25hours a week max

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 291162884314

Comentário (5)



Fotos

Comentário







Support our team at a beautiful family-run jungle hostel in Uvita de Osa, Costa Rica
Take part in our sustainable farm project and rainforest reserve in Cañaza de Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica