Experiencing authentic Mallorquín food, culture and lifestyle and help with child care in Mallorca, Spain

Country

Espanha

atualizado  

Favorito 663 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    61.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi!  We are a photographer/entrepreneur and a singer/voice teacher, together for 18 years, and our beautiful little boy, with whom we are super in love! We've lived in the US, UK, & currently Spain. We speak English and Spanish in our home. We enjoy creative cooking. We are happy to host volunteers who can help with child care for our 4-year-old. Please get in touch with us if you'd like to visit Mallorca. Thank you! ツ

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Our location in the North-Central part of Mallorca (yes, we have a train station:) is ideal for experiencing authentic Mallorquín food, culture and lifestyle, without major influence from tourism. We also are happy to share information about our experiences as as a professional photographer who travels the world, and a singer/voice teacher who has performed in top venues in Europe and the US. Plus, we're super creative in the kitchen!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Hello & Welcome to Mallorca! It’s my happy privilege to be the main care giver to our 4-yr-old son. (I work a lot of hours for my music career, but mostly from home and my schedule is flexible). Help needed such as entertaining our son, talking to him, helping him discover and play new games, watching that he’s safe while he walks and plays, feeding him, etc. I will usually be nearby; I simply need more time to work in my home office/music studio.

    We also need some light help with household chores, which may or may not include: washing dishes, laundry (we have an electric washer), taking out the trash and/or the recycling, vacuuming and similar tasks. Our friendly dog also really appreciates when someone takes her for a run or walk!

    It's useful to us if you have a driver's license (for at least 2 years, if you are younger than 25 years old). You will not be driving a lot, but maybe on occasion.

    The way it's been working well (though most things are flexible:), is that the workawayer looks after our boy during afternoon hours, and the workawayer has 2 days completely off.

    A WorkAway helper stays in the home of my husband's parents (same block as our house). My husband's parents live in the bottom floors of that home, and the WorkAway volunteer has the entire 3rd floor (top floor) to herself. The WorkAway bedroom is a private bedroom on the top floor with a balcony (with a little bit of a view of the Tramuntana mountains). Also on the top floor is a large "open floor plan" room -- a living room/kitchen/office space. On the lower floors, there are 2 bathrooms and another kitchen.

    Our boy, myself, and my husband - our house is only 1 block away from your house! So, it's easy to go back & forth between both houses.

    We are very appreciative of WorkAway help, and we believe in giving respect and a lot of free time to people so they can explore the island, practice Spanish (or English, or Mallorcan Catalan), and enjoy social/cultural activities while here.

    ✪ The coolest things about our village is that it has the friendliest Mallorquíns, the strongest accent (in the older generations), and the spiciest food (there are non-spicy dishes too of course). It also has a train station to Palma and many other villages. (Most villages on the island do not have a train station, so we are very lucky in that regard.) Our houses are only 2 blocks away from the main Plaza Mayor, which is one of the nicest plazas in all of Mallorca. (◠‿◠) We are 20+ minutes from the nearest beach by bike, 7 minutes away by car.

    Our village is surrounded by farmlands countryside and marshlands. We sometimes visit the organic farm of our village, b/c we used to live there and now our friends live there.

    FOOD/MEALS:
    At both houses, we all prefer that you enjoy "doing your own thing", at whatever time works for you. On occasion, we invite the WorkAwayer to join us for a meal, and I also like to gift tupperwares when I cook extra. This way, a WorkAwayer can enjoy being mostly be independent, but also enjoy a few meals together for a bit of socializing. And when playing at our house with Kai, you are very welcome to make a snack, have a nespresso coffee or choose from a wide variety of teas - we have cow milk, oat milk & soy milk.
    There are 6 major supermarkets in our village, including a Lidl. The many Moroccan shops sell very, very inexpensive fruits and vegetables (great quality). And our village weekly farmers' market is every Sunday morning on the 2 main plazas.

    TRAIN / BIKE / BUS / CAR:
    Some Workawayers borrowed my automatic car for special occasions. (You cover the cost of your gas.)
    We have several bicycles that you are welcome to borrow.
    In general, it’s best you take the bike to the beach, or the train to Palma (or to other villages on the way to Palma).
    A few examples of how u can get around:
    Inca = easy by train (market day is Thursday).
    Bahía de Alcúdia/Play de Muro = bike, or early morning bus from Sa Pobla + evening bus return.
    Soller = train + another train or bus.
    Valldemossa = train + bus.
    Illetes = train + bus.
    Deia, Estrenc, Artá, etc. = you can take my car IF you are a confident driver AND we don’t need my car that day.

    By the way, all my family speaks fluent Spanish and English (except my father-in-law, who only speaks Spanish, and tries his best in English:).

    We look forward to hearing from you! Happy travels! ☼ ❀ ♫

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are happy to speak English or Spanish with you - whatever you prefer to help your practice. My mother-in-law also teaches both languages and she is happy to offer classes on a trade basis (classes in exchange for cleaning, for example).

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    What we can offer:
    - Your own large, private bedroom.
    - Use of a bicycle.
    - Train station that goes to the capital city, Palma (and to many other villages).
    - Possible use of our automatic or manual van (to be discussed).
    - Use of our home gym equipment.
    - Use of our musical instruments.
    - Both houses have wifi.
    - If you help us well, we would be happy to write a good recommendation/reference for you.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Great Mallorcan restaurants & cafés - many of which are inexpensive. Our village is known for its good food. Bicycling. Hiking. Marshland nature reserve close by. Nearby beaches. There are frequent cultural activities and presentations in the main plaza of our village (music, dance, crafts markets, traditional and modern offerings). Train from our village to the capital city of Palma & many other villages. Mallorca has paragliding & many kinds of adventure sports such as kitesurf/windsurf, diving, sailing, hiking, rock climbing, coasteering, canyoning, sea caving, cliff jumping and other outdoor activities and extreme sports. Possible use of our automatic or manual car (to be discussed).

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Our village has fast internet!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3-5 hours a day/ 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)


















































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 271954252893