Help on a diverse sierra foothill educational farm outside of Jackson CA, USA

  • EUA
  • Favorito 658 vezes
  • Última atividade: 26/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a small farm in the steep hills outside of Jackson CA. Permaculture ethics and principles guide our practices. We have a strong desire to learn through experience and implement these discoveries on a consistent basis.


    We are 100% off grid, using wood and solar energy for heating of space and water. Photovoltaic systems create 100% of our power. We use solar powered submersible pumps to irrigate a 5 acre garden and orchard on a steep terraced ridge.

    We are looking for helpers to stay for two weeks or longer. The minimum stay is 14 days. Those who wish to and can stay longer will be given higher priority.
    We produce most of the food we eat which means we cannot always accommodate dietary restrictions.

    We are located in the central Sierra Nevada Foothills. We are close to rock climbing, kayaking, hiking and river experiences. Our core group here works to manifest a sustainable path which sometimes does not leave much time for recreation. As some have said, "we get after it and take care of business enjoying every moment".

    Farm Activities:
    mulching, forest thinning and tending, tree planting, vegetable seed starting, terracing, gardening, orchard care, llama, garden bed creation, irrigation, vegetable and fruit harvest, construction, beekeeping, honey extraction, educational workshops, wood working, lumber milling, plant propagation, cooking, cleaning, fun, enjoyment, learning, sharing, etc...

    About the proprietor - I have worked in agricultural most of my life. I have also worked as a journalist, professional tour guide, rock climbing rescue worker, interpreter, translator, University of CA Farm Advisor and currently do a little side work as a Permaculture Design Consultant. I dedicate the vast majority of my time to the Ridge project, which is focused on research and education as well as productivity. I am passionate about education, learning and sharing with others.
    We work closely with my mother as well as a tight network of other regional 'organic' farms.

    I have lived and worked in many parts of Latin America where I maintain close ties with other agriculturalists. This project is part of a network of positive change in the Americas.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
    Ensino
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Travelers will benefit by becoming part of a community scale education and agriculture effort. You will meet real rural Californians working to make the world we live in a better place. You will also learn the ins and outs of forest stewardship, lumber milling, woodworking, natural building, garden care, seeding and planting etc...

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Work starts very early in the summertime, to escape the heat. We work 5 hours a day 5 days a week and 1 hour a day the other two days (if you are here). Projects vary and include maintenance of beautiful growing beds, mulching, planting, spreading compost and watering...

    There is a nice pond on site to cool off in, lots of hiking in the forest and vast wilderness opportunities close by. There is never a day off on the farm, but on "rest days" we sometimes take the whole team up to the cooler mountain weather nearby to enjoy swimming, hiking, fishing and rock climbing opportunities.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer a beautiful camping area for your stay complete with outdoor kitchen, shower, composting toilet, community gathering space and first come first served trailer accommodations. Meals are farm based and mostly cooked and enjoyed communally.
    We cannot always accommodate dietary restrictions! This means we are not vegetarian, we eat the meat, vegetables, fruits and grains that we raise or that are raised by our neighbors. We do not have all foods all the time.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We prefer volunteers who are self motived and ready to work. We are exciting about living and producing tasty quality food. If hard work with a positive purpose sounds good you will probably be a good fit here.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    small campers are welcome. we can not accommodate large motorhomes due to the terrain

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 127774246394

Comentário (10)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)














Live with a family with disabilities on a small homestead in Savannah, USA
Help out on our Free rustic guest ranch for young adults, veterans , nerds , and artists in arlee, USA