Paul

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Mi situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Hi there! I'm Paul, 35 years old and originally from Scotland. I am taking some time out to travel to New Zealand after deciding a few years back that I wanted to live overseas for a while...so I'm on a bit of a place finding mission to find a new place to settle / call home pernamently in New Zealand. My work background originally started in Medicine but soon after I transitioned into the Environmental non profit sector, working with local communities and environmental & research organisations to promote sustainability and address the issues relating to climate change.

    Over the years, I have travelled quite extensively including 2.5 years living in Canada, a year living in New Zealand (back in my 20s), 7 months in South America and 6 months in Norway. During that time I have volunteered at several wwoofing and workaway / helpx hosts and had some great experiences doing so. I've helped with everything from gardening, housekeeping, hostel management, website & admin and carpentry / construction (which I have alot of experience with). The last 8 years I have been working as a Freelance Project Manager for Art organisations and have also run 2 film festivals in the preceeding six years I was back home in Scotland.

    My main hobby / passion is to be outdoors- hiking, rock climbing, canoeing and sailing- every spare moment I have, I tend to be doing this. I also have a strong passion for music, however it's been many years since I've picked up my guitar or played the piano- but this is something I want to focus on more this coming year.

    I have done a lot of volunteer exchanges in the past, however I think helpx is a great network as it allows you to go to new places and spend time with locals whilst working on exciting projects and being in very scenic places / landscapes. I therefore hope that the opportunity to volunteer with you will be fun and enjoyable and my personality means I am an open communicator and always willing to help where needed.

    Look forward to meeting you!


    What skills I have experience in:

    Carpentry, Building, DIY
    Gardening, veg growing
    Computer Repair, Website Design, Graphic Design,
    Social Media, publicity, marketing
    Event management
    Mechanical, Boat Maintenance
    Sailing, Canoeing & Rock Climbing Instructor

    References:

    I have not used Workaway before however I am a veteran of WWOOFing I volunteered with about 6 different WWOOF hosts in New Zealand and 3 more in Scotland. Happy to put you in touch with previous hosts.

    I have done volunteering for a couple of hostels / backpackers in Scotland.

    I have also volunteered for various charities over the years including the Mountain Bothies Association- helping with rennovation of some of mountain hikers huts in Scotland.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Carpentry, Building, DIY
    Computer Repair, Website Design, Graphic Design,
    Social Media, publicity, marketing
    Event management
    Mechanical, Boat Maintenance
    Sailing, Canoeing & Climbing Instructor

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Edad

    36

  • Nacionalidad

    Scottish

  • Algo más...

    Originally from Scotland and have a background in Environmental Science.
    Have also worked previously in the medical field as well as an outdoor activity instructor

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios