Desde: Alemania

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Bélgica, Canadá, Chipre, Colombia, Dominica, Ecuador, Estonia, Francia, Grecia, Islandia ... more

  • Medallas

    Super Workawayer

  • Mi situación

    en casa

  • Descripción

    About me:

    Hello from on the road somewhere. I´m Ben (or Bernd, but most people have problems to pronounce it). Born and grew up in Aachen in Germany next to the borders to The Netherlands and Belgium, and then I moved to the eastern side of Germany next to the borders of Poland and the Czech Republic.
    You see, already by birth I like to be international. I like to explore the regions where I am, hiking and doing bike tours. And I like to get in contact with interesting people who live wherever I go, who are willing to tell me about their lives and culture. I had beautiful experiences with volunteering work in different places, staying somewhere and doing some good work for the People was so good to do. For example I worked for a sustainable orientated whale-watching company on La Gomera Island, Spain, monitoring endangered shorebirds in the USA, as well as working on a guest-ranch in Iceland.

    My hobbies:

    I like nature, birds, flowers and trees, good museums, culture, handcraft (although I don´t have much time to do such), music (though I don´t play any instrument - maybe you can teach me?), dancing (my favourite is a waltz). And of course travelling.

    My trip around the world:

    This profile I created especially for my big trip around the world. I allowed myself a year off my daily life. In July 2016 I started my journey. And it lasted to end of July 2017.

    I wanted to see a little bit of the world.
    I wanted to make new friends.
    I wanted to learn new things.
    I wanted to try new hobbies.
    I wanted to help whenever it´s possible.

    My trip started at the Lake Baikal in eastern Russia. Then I worked on a permaculture farm in China, did kayak tours in Laos, being an English teacher in Cambodia, volunteered for a Wildlife Rescue Center in Malaysia, stayed at a treehouse and Recycling project in Indonesia (sadly they had just finished days before I arrived, so I couldn't help anymore). Via Timor Leste I arrived in Australia and helped mainly weeding. Last station: Tonga, where I do maintenance, gardening and kitchen aid for an Eco Resort. Next place to visit was New Zealand. Then via Tahiti and the Easter Island I reached South America in Chile. In South America I spent 3,5 months from north to South.

    What I still want to do/learn:

    Someone who shows me to dive, to dance Tango Argentino or/ and other dances), to play my harmonica, to ride, to plant a tree, to herd some sheep, to run an hostel (the more managerlike things), to seakayak, to sing.

    My job and university background:

    Travelling is also my job; I work as a tour guide for a German company that offer hiking holidays.
    Working in tourism my mind is always full of organized tours and I always have the feeling that staying in hotels you never reach the people really living in this area. It just this "taking a beautiful scenery, give me nice sunny days but don´t bother me with a real living in this country" -Feeling. At the beginning I liked it also this way. But I want to learn from the people, who live there, stay with them and share memories afterwards. Couches instead of hotel beds, people instead of tourism shiny paper magazines.

    Originally I studied Geography, Biology and Geology, plants and animals as well as my world Atlas have always been my favourites since childhood days. Before working as a tour guide I was working in an animal park. And next to my Job I have a teaching degree to do forest interpretation walks.

    Where I have been before:

    Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, the Easter Island, Ecuador, France, Greece, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Laos, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mali, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tonga, the United States, Zimbabwe

    Updated November 2017

  • Intereses

    Navegar / barcos
    Actividades al aire libre
    Vida en autocaravana
    Trabajo de caridad
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Eventos y sociedad
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Compañía para ancianos
    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I can do a lot, and can learn whatever is needed.

    I have worked on a Christmas market , on Iceland I worked on a guest farm helping out in the kitchen, cleaning the rooms and doing interpretive talks to tourist groups, worked as a kitchen-aid, teaching children, did tours as an environmental interpreter, have contributed in scientific projects with plants and animals in Germany, Slovakia, Mongolia and Cameroon, since 17 years I am working as a tour guide and hiking guide (in Germany, the European Alps, Greece, Cyprus, Iceland, Greenland, southern Africa, Mali and Canada), part of these tours also as a minibus driver and cook, I have a licence for health related outdoor hikes, did presentation speeches about foreign countries, have helped on a tourism fair, was a whale-watching guide on La Gomera, gardening, teaching English, trail maintenance, working in a Wildlife Rescue Center .......probably even more than these

    working with people, and nature are a big favourite

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

  • Edad


  • Nacionalidad


  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial