Kelly Jane

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    Croatia
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Dear host, hello, I'm Kelly from Portsmouth UK. I have a first class degree in Restoration and Decorative Studies from the University of Portsmouth, gained as a mature student, where I specialised in historic building restoration, gilding and paint finishes. I'm currently a freelance artist/decorator/restorer/marketer who loves to travel and get her hands dirty. I'm a very good cook and love cats, dogs, goats, horses....all the creatures! I do prefer my own room to sleep in but I'm not fussy and I'm very happy to share all other facilities and day to day tasks.
    My most recent working travels, through Workaway, were near Nantes in France, where I used my decorative and research skills to create lime paint and plaster samples from scratch, using homemade lime putty, pigments and natural additives, to determine the process for the eco renovation of a 19th century classic French rural building next to a river. Despite having little previous knowledge of this particular process we successfully researched and made lime paint and created some lovely decorative finishes. I love this type of experimentation but I'm just as happy doing any prep work, filling etc. and finishing. I actually love sanding! Following that I spent a lovely time near Limoges prepping and decorating the kitchen in a similar type of building.
    Although I'm no expert I find simple gardening tasks extremely therapeutic.
    Previous life experience includes working and travelling solo as a croupier throughout my twenties in London. Cyprus, Greece, France, Turkey and Singapore, music and event organising and promotion throughout my thirties and lots of bar/restaurant work in between until I finally went back to school at 37.
    Until covid hit last March, and the venue had to close, I had organised and promoted a monthly not for profit local art fair for six years as a volunteer.
    I'm really relaxed about working hours and although I am a fair bit older than many Workawayers the wanderlust is still strong, I can happily clamber up and down ladders and it's still all about meeting new people, experiencing new places, hopefully learning some new skills and improving on existing ones along the way. Not to mention hearing peoples stories and having a real laugh!
    I am double jabbed, have been extremely careful throughout this collectively dreadful time and am conscious of, and respectful, of other people's boundaries.
    Take a look at my work here: https://www.facebook.com/ShinyArtworksGildingStudio
    Love and respect.
    Kelly.

  • Intereses

    Baile
    Animales
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Libros
    Música
    Fotografía
    Astronomía
    Cocina y alimentación
    Historia
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I'm a very practical person, I just get on with what needs doing. My preference is for restoration and decoration work but I'm happy to cook, clean, garden and generally get stuck in. I also have extensive experience in the leisure industry, bar, waiting etc. I'll have a go at anything.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Turco: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    55

  • Nacionalidad

    British

  • Algo más...

    You can see photos of my range of artwork and previous restoration/decorative work on my Facebook page. Shiny Artworks Gilding Studio. The Crafts in the Tower page shows the event that I ran for six years. References are available on request.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios