Jay & Debbi

Desde: Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Australia, Camboya, Chipre, Francia, Grecia, Hungría, Israel, Italia, Nepal, Noruega ... more

  • Medallas

    Top Workawayer

  • Nuestra situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    We are taking a retirement/career break trip around the world and are very excited to have new adventures and try new things and experience the world in a way we never have before. We have four children between us (second marriage for both of us), with the youngest (ours together) going off on his own college freshman/gap year. And we thought, why should he have all the fun?? And we are well on our way.
    Jay is an energetic, active, very young 67 year old. He has many, many talents. They include fixing and building almost anything (but he doesn't do plumbing) His profession for most of his career was white-collar business - corporate, consulting and start-ups; his last job was with a nonprofit organization (like an NGO) helping inner-city youth by matching and supporting them in internships. He loves building and fixing things and he has re-wired electrical, painted, does carpentry, tiling, dry wall, etc. He also loves to cook and has created a vertical garden on our deck (which he built) in our backyard. He is funny and makes Debbi laugh every single day.
    Debbi is a hard worker, younger than Jay, loves to work/be outside, and is a good helper. Debbi was a teacher for 15 years, and then moved into workforce development. She has been an executive director of a non-profit, and develops programs that help lower skilled adults build skills and get higher paying jobs. It is great work, and very important, but Debbi is ready to take a break and see the world. Debbi doesn't have that many hands-on skills, but is an eager learner, and a great help in any project. She can cook and bake while following recipes. Debbi has also just written a creative historical nonfiction book, "Winds Over Jerusalem", that was published in mid-March, 2017. We are both very excited about her book tour in the US during the spring and summer of 2017.
    We are very committed to doing new things and look forward to working on projects that we haven't ever done before. We want to meet new people and experience different cultures. We are both in good shape, very active, love to walk, ride bikes, read, and have adventures. And we are ready for this next big one.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Navegar / barcos
    Fitness
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura
    Libros
    Películas y televisión
    Música
    Tecnología

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Jay: building, fixing, working with wood, power tools, hand tools, landscaping/gardening, cooking, tiling, painting, constructing, deconstructing, designing, problem-solving ....
    Debbi: gardening, tree planting, general labor, hard working, cooking, designing and implementing projects.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Edad

    70 & 58

  • Nacionalidad

    American

  • Algo más...

    Love board games and good conversations.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Jay has some food allergies that cause him to sneeze. He is also allergic to cats and doesn't touch them (outdoor cats are probably ok).

    • Dieta especial
      We don't eat pork. And Debbi doesn't eat shellfish.

Fotos

Comentarios