Alexandra

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Super Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Mi próximo destino:

    Jamaica
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    I'm from New York, I graduated from the University at Buffalo in 2018 with Bachelors in Psychology. Since then I have worked as a social worker at a homeless shelters in my hometown.


    My passion for farming has changed my life. It allowed me to see how we are all connected, to each other and to the earth. I am my happiest when immersed in nature with my hands in the soil. I feel that I am now on a journey of education through community living and personal growth. I deeply follow the value of 'giving back to the land as much as we take from the land' and I am seeking to be surrounded by those who favor simple and sustainable permaculture as a philosophy and a way of life.

    Summary of my work/volunteer experience:
    Cooking
    Bookkeeping
    Cashier
    Waitress
    Gardening
    Childcare
    Freelance writing
    Case management
    Cleaning/housekeeping
    Hostel work/receptionist
    General farm work
    Animal care
    Basic tool knowledge


    I'm 24

    I’m plant based and try to focus on ethically sourced eggs and dairy

    I'm looking for LGBTQ friendly spaces

    I try to practice Yoga and Mediation daily.




    Interests include: Cooking, Environmentalism, Art, Photography, Creative writing, Health , Yoga, Nature & Animals, raw foods/diet, veganism, hiking/trekking, camping, holistic healing, Herbalism, kayaking, gardening, dance & music, books and documentaries,

    Things I want to learn: Building/construction, more farming skills, animal care, making soaps, wine, candles, wildcrafting for food and medicine; preserving food: drying, freezing, canning, pickling, making cider, kim chi, mustard, horseradish, jams and jellies; making medicines: oils, salves, tinctures and teas; seed-saving, learning Botany of flowers, herbs and grains, permaculture.





    In 2018 I went on my first Solo Backpacking trip to Southeast Asia for 4 months. I was eager to leave my comfort zone and experience another culture. During this time I taught English in Thailand for 1 month at a local learning center, I worked at a Hostel in Thailand as well where I got to interact with people from all around the world. At the Hostel I slept in a tent on the roof, I am very laid back in that way and I just go with the flow. After that i continued on to travel to Laos, Vietnam, and Myanmar. In Myanmar I volunteered at a hospital where I cooked meals weekly for the volunteers.


    In January 2020 I left for my second Solo Backpacking trip to Central America for 3 months. In Guatemala I lived with a local family for 1 month and learned Spanish. It was a great time to learn their customs and traditional meals. After which I moved on to El Salvador, Nicaragua and Costa Rica.

    In May 2020 I worked on my first organic farm (WWOOF), where I get to garden for 5 hours a day/6 days a week. Tasks include: Mulching, weeding, planting, watering, harvesting wild plants, cooking meals together. During the time I have also learned about a raw vegan diet which really interests me.




    .








    I am flexible and am open to a wide variety of tasks however my main love is gardening and farm work. I am also open to learning building skills/light construction. I thrive when given a task and being able to complete independently. At the same time I can easily assimilate into groups. I love learning and sharing from others!

    I will do pretty much anything if you show me how! (Except slaughtering animals or butcher work, I respect it but it's not for me)







    Final thoughts:
    I want to have my own farm one day! To have it as a safe community space for other POC to come and learn how to be sustainable!

    I am so thankful for the opportunities to come to your home/farm! I find Workaway to be an energy exchange that I am truly thankful for, to continue to learn and grow!


    Update 3/20/21
    At an off grid homestead outside of Durham, NC.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    restaurant experience as a server, cooking, cleaning, serving, gardening, child care, elderly care, education, customer service, art/crafts, teaching, bookkeeping.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Edad

    25

  • Nacionalidad

    American

  • Algo más...

    I am a fast learner, hard worker and become very passionate about anything i set my mind to.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      no

    • Dieta especial
      no

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios