Sophie & Nellie

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Amigos (2)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estamos

    viajando

    Nuestro próximo destino:

    Italy
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi, I'm Sophie!

    I'm traveling with my sister, Nellie, and our main goal is to learn Spanish. Nellie is taking a gap year and I'm working remotely on the road. We're athletic girls from Colorado (so we can do labor-intensive jobs!) and are interested in working on farms, helping out in hospitality, and teaching English.

    We both grew up in Cape Town, where our nomadic lifestyle was sparked from excursions all over southern Africa.

    I moved to Thailand to work with Burmese migrants. I came back to Colorado and graduated from college and continued to travel.

    A series of events led me to travel around the world in search of my lost Rohingya friends who fled for their lives from Myanmar.

    Their stories inspired me to start my nonprofit organization, Books Unbound – to develop contextualized learning materials for refugees. With my international team of artists, animators, and designers, we provide materials for marginalized communities who are unable to attend a traditional school.

    Since my work is remote, I've decided to get back on the road and start traveling with Nellie, my younger sister.

    -----------

    Hi, I'm Nellie!

    I was born in South Africa and lived there for about six years before relocating back to the US. I graduated from high school in Colorado. I'm taking a gap year before going to nursing school in September, 2022.

    I've been playing piano for 13 years and was involved in several bands at my school for 6 years. I have experience as a music teacher and am trying to pick up the guitar while I'm on the road. I love rock climbing, hiking, swimming, surfing, and I'm eager to try more!

    I have a lot of experience in food service, hospitality, some labor-intensive work -- and I am eager to learn more! I am a hard worker and interested in gaining new skillsets in farmwork, renovation projects, and teaching.

    Sophie and I are both wine lovers and foodies, always interested in learning something new from the people we meet along the way.

    We look forward to connecting with you!

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Actividades al aire libre
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Escritura
    Libros
    Música
    Fotografía
    Blogging
    Cocina y alimentación
    Cultura
    Eventos y sociedad
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos artísticos

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    -- English teacher:
    I (Sophie) have been an English teacher for the past 6 years, working in Thailand, Bangladesh, and the US with Burmese, Karen, Chin, and Rohingya refugees.
    I (Nellie) have been teaching conversational English in Ecuador with the Quechua people.

    -- Piano teacher:
    I (Sophie) started my own piano teaching business with over 40 students in USA.
    I (Nellie) have been playing piano for 13 years and sometimes assist Sophie in teaching her students piano.

    -- Copywriter:
    I (Sophie) am a freelance copywriter for various companies and help plan and implement social media campaigns.
    -- Curriculum development:
    I (Sophie) started a nonprofit to develop informal learning materials for refugees. I am an expert in curriculum development.
    -- Graphic designer, photographer (Sophie)
    -- Food blogger (Nellie)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Burmese: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    26 & 19

  • Algo más...

    We love the outdoors! As Colorado girls, mountains are in our backyard. Our hobbies include running, hiking, rock climbing, swimming, and exploring new cities / countries! We love spending time on the beach, snorkeling, etc.
    We've been trying to pick up surfing. We both play piano and ukulele.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios