Maya

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Amigos (1)

El perfil está conectado a

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    California, United States - Desde Dic 2021 Hasta Ene 2022
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Aloha!
    I am passionate about traveling and I love learning about different cultures and ways of life. My goal is to expand my world view while making a positive impact on the communities I visit. I do my best to travel responsibly and Workaway is a great way to do that. I have had one 3 month long Workaway experience so far with a lovely family in Wartling, UK. During my stay I helped with harvesting and processing food from their orchard and garden, weeding, chopping wood, assisting with their horses, child care, and household chores. I have never been one to shy away from hard work. I enjoy getting my hands dirty and take pride in a job well done.

    During my first two years of high school I sold snacks to fund my dream of visiting another country. In the summer of 2014 I went to Peru on a volunteer trip for teens with Lifeworks International, now known as GoBeyond. We moved rocks, dirt, and concrete powder at a Casa Mantay, a shelter for young single mothers, in preparation for a tool shed. We fed and played with disabled children and adults at the Mother Theresa Orphanage in Cuzco. We also built a green house for an elementary school called MySmallHelp. I did my senior project on the importance of volunteer work and my experience in Peru. My time in Peru awoke the travel bug in me and made me passionate about volunteer work, leaving me convinced that I can make a difference in people’s everyday lives.

    I have done a variety of volunteer work in my own community as well, including trash pickup, weeding, painting, tutoring, basic construction, cleaning, animal care, bee keeping, and organizing.

    I have four years of steady child care experience. I started by watching my English teacher’s three year old daughter Wainani in 10th grade. I took care of her for a few hours after school three days a week for two years. After graduating high school I got a job taking care of a 10 week old girl named Makena nine hours a day, two to three days a week. I continued watching Makena for two years while completing an associates degree in Liberal Arts, only stopping when I left to start traveling in May 2018. It was an extremely rewarding experience watching and taking part in her development.

    I also have experience in house sitting and taking care of dogs, cats, and chickens. I have house sat for up to three months and have had people ask me to watch their house and pets again the next time they went away.

    I was born in Santa Rosa, California and have lived in Pahoa, Hawaii since 2004. I love and respect the ocean and land, the a'ina. If you are interested I can teach you some commonly used Hawaiian words and a bit about the Hawaiian culture. In college I focused on art classes including Chinese style painting, textiles, screen printing, watercolor and ceramics. I am particularly fond of interpretive 3D art like funky sculptures. I also rather enjoy reading.

    I am now working as a teachers aide in a 2nd grade classroom. It's inspiring seeing how quickly the students grow and learn.

    I am fully vaccinated against Covid-19.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Bricolaje y manualidades

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Vida en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Enseñanza
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Childcare, cleaning, gardening, meal prep and animal care.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I am a native English speaker and would be happy to help those learning English. I am a beginner in learning Spanish and Dutch.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    23

  • Algo más...

    I enjoy playing all sorts of board games, love DnD and card games. I also love going on outdoor adventures like hiking and I am interested in foraging.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      Vegan

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios