Honoka

  • Japón
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Actividades que me interesan:

    Living and eating like a local
    Art projects (I make stop motion videos!)
    Nomad life/freelancing
    Sustainable living
    Hiking and camping
    SUP/canoeing
    Living with animals (it's a dream!)
    Travel

    Mi próximo destino:

    Taiwan - Desde Dic 2022 Hasta Ene 2023
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hello! I'm Japanese, but with a background of being raised abroad in the US, Canada, Singapore, and Sweden. I'm fully bilingual (EN/JP) and currently work as a freelance translator. I love to draw and would love to travel, get inspired, and learn to live freely while immersing myself in new cultures and environments.

    I've been wanting to use Workaway ever since 2020 when I quit my full-time job at a fashion/art company in Tokyo - but I guess now's the chance. The reason that I'm finally here, is because I have a pressing situation that I need to escape from - which are the deadly pollens (*gasp* not the aliens. the pollens.). I've developed severe allergies towards pine pollens over the years of living in Tokyo, and I've come to learn that the city air/life just makes it worse. I've suffered from terrible skin problems for a long time which worsens during this season. And it never really healed because of an unhealthy mentality that had been implanted in me while working for years at a "black company" (companies that deplete or overwork their employees) and then quitting that job, breaking up with my partner, and figuring out what to do with life amidst covid. I had so many uncertainties about life, and I was nowhere near happy. But I knew that I wanted to be happy and that I wanted to create, travel, love, laugh and live life again. I made the transition to becoming a freelancer - a freelance translator, dreaming of a life to travel, and work from anywhere in the world with a skill that I can call my own. Especially in Japan, where it's so easy to become a "salary-man" or an "office-lady" who are expected to become experts in their specific firms.

    When I sorted out who and what sort of life I wanted to live, I naturally started opening my eyes to more opportunities, taking action, wanting to try new things, and make more meaningful connections to the world. I decided that I want to make healthy decisions for my mind and body, and treat myself better. So here I am, ready to venture, go where it’s greener (literally), be inspired, and live life.

    As I've briefly mentioned, the city-life has been giving me health issues (pollen allergies, skin problems, depression etc), which I wish to someday solve by living in a more rural area, and or living with a good balance between city and nature. I've always been interested in living a more sustainable life, but I am still very far behind. I hope to learn from the real experts out there and discover what it really means to live with nature, and discover the best balance for myself. I also want to discover what I can do, while farm staying and living out of my comfort zone.

    I feel very motivated when I have a purpose, and when I know that I can help someone and make them happy. Whether it be for the earth or for a good cause. I have a passion to draw, create and make stop motion videos, but it all comes from the love to express myself. I used to be a dancer, perform in a music band and juggle, but now, I translate for children's books, sustainable brands, and for movies and more. I still make art, and I would love to try things that would feed my inspiration. As long as I have the right mindset, with the right people, I know that anything would be fun! :)

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Dibujo y pintura
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura

    mostrar más
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Japonés: Fluido
    Korean: Principiante
    Swedish: Principiante
    Chino (mandarín): Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos ecológicos
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos artísticos
    Idiomas
    Cuidado de animales
    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Bilingual Translator (EN/JP)
    Freelancing
    Public Relations
    Art/Illustrating/Paper cut art
    Making short animation clips
    Playing instruments (brass, piano)
    Dancing (ballet, modern dance etc)
    Juggling
    Yoga
    Good appetite
    Basic knowledge of aroma therapy
    Accepting and open-minded
    Hard working and curious

  • Edad

    29

  • Algo más...

    I used to have a beautiful black rabbit. She joined the family in Canada, then we brought her to Japan, and she passed away in Singapore, now resting in our grandma's garden in Japan. What a life! But a good life!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Pollens (pines)

    • Dieta especial
      I try to stay away from highly processed foods, but no allergies! I love to eat.

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios