Arianna

Desde: Italia

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Finlandia, Gran Bretaña, Irlanda, Islandia, Noruega, Suecia

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/04/2020 - 01/01/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    248

  • Medallas

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Descripción

    I like open air activities, and I'm not afraid of doing physical work or "dirty jobs", and actually this is something that I find enjoyable and funny. Through Workaway I had some experience working in the fields, planting, weeding and collecting vegetables, and other manual works such as collecting fruits (while also climbing on the trees) and cutting grass; I do also housework of course; I can cook, but I'm not a very good cooker (especially for the Italian standards; (but I do like washing dishes!). I like being surrounded by animals, even if sometimes can be challenging to move freely without being chased and followed (this especially applies to puppies!) I haven't grown up with animals, but while volunteering I worked with various animals and pets: dogs, cats, rabbits, chickens (including a fighting rooster), goats, and a lamb. I absolutely adore goats, because of their strong, independent and cheerful personality. I never worked with donkeys and horses, but I'd like to have the opportunity to work with them. I know that working with animals isn't something that you can fit on a schedule, and that you have to be aware and available for animals needs and well being (thus putting aside your own priorities).
    I also had some experience with children: here in Italy I worked as a volunteer with small groups of children (2-5 children at a time), age around 2-5; these are the children of immigrant women (mainly from North Africa and mainly Muslims) that came to live in Italy and have/want to learn Italian; it was twice a week and it was just one-two hours in the afternoon and it has been very difficult and required a lot of patience; but also very satisfying, when you succeed in building a relationship of trust with them and you're able to communicate with them even if you don't speak the same language.
    I've also a little experience in working at a hostel/B&B: my mainly duties were cleaning stuff and welcoming guests, but now I know how much effort you have to put in order to build a pleasant and welcoming atmosphere for the guests, because every detail matters: a clean bathroom and tidy beds, an elaborate or simple meal, paying attention to the questions that the guests might have but also being available for a brief talk, none of these things can be overlooked, and all of these things together indicates that you truly take care of them.
    One important thing: usually I don't commit in advance for a long period of staying, let's say more than two/three weeks. Also, if I'm feeling that I'm not at ease in a place, I'll move on: for me Workaway is really about the experience that you can have while volunteering, getting to know a new culture, learning new things... I prefer spend money for accomodation or transport than wasting my time! On the other side, if I find myself in a good place and situation, and the host agrees, I'd stay more than likely for a longer period.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Turismo
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Work fields, farming, taking care of children.
    Little hostel experience

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Italian: Fluido

  • Edad

    34

  • Nacionalidad

    Italian

  • Algo más...

    I like running and bicycling;
    I love mountains;
    literature made me interest in post-soviet areas;
    and travelling taught me to embrace the unexpected!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No

Fotos

While invited in an English class in Diyarbakir, Turkey

Comentarios