Beautiful new permaculture food forest and healing community near Viseu, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

145 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hey hey :)
    I'm Andrew, a 33 year old English guy and have very recently bought a small quinta (just under 1 hectare) near to Sao Pedro do Sul in the Viseu area together with my friend Matthew (30).
    This is the very start of an exciting long term project where we intend to create a small community, and a thriving and abundant permaculture food forest, with a focus on medicinal herbs and mushrooms.
    We also want to put a lot of emphasis on making this a space for healing. I meditate every day, and do yoga quite often, but the aim is also to integrate many different healing modalities, including qi gong and tai chi, dance, massage, and plant medicine. So not only the vegetation will thrive, but all life here!
    We want a community vibe, and that includes volunteers like you, so a longer stay is preferred (at least 2 weeks). This is so that you can settle in and feel at home, and become part of the ecosystem :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have studied quite a bit about permaculture and herbal medicine and forest gardening, so there is a lot to learn about plants and gardening, and the design approach. I'm not suggesting I can offer a permaculture design course like experience with formal training, but rather a real life implementation of permaculture concepts, and getting to know a lot of very cool and useful plants.
    It is also a great chance to get involved and gain first hand experience around setting up these kind of projects from the beginning. I have volunteered at so many established projects over the years, where many things were already in place, and therefore I never learned about how to go about installing such things myself. Now it's time gain knowledge and resourcefulness by researching, and doing, and empowerment through collective support.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    So there is a wide variety of projects that are just waiting to get underway here. As I am here by myself at the moment, a wide range of skills (and also common sense and a willingness to get involved and put energy in) will be very much appreciated!
    Setting up some basics of off-grid living is a priority at the moment, and also getting the terraces ready for planting.
    Carpentry and building skills would be most welcome (but not essential).
    Projects that I am eager to get going include:
    - Constructing a treehouse/ deck
    - Clearing the forest, collecting and organising wood...
    - Building a rocket stove water heater/ hot tub/ bath
    - Building some structures (using natural building techniques) such as a greenhouse using reclaimed windows, a nice wooden deck for yoga and meditation, an outdoor kitchen, and chicken coop.
    - Setting up a hot compost humanure system.
    - Planting seeds, and germinating seedlings and planting out others (perhaps with the help of a cold frame).
    - Sheet mulching for creating the food forest.
    - Perhaps digging out a pond and setting up a rainwater harvesting system.
    - Getting a basic solar system set up.
    - If you have skills with building/ furniture making/ engineering of any sort, then just let me know and there is space for a lot of creativity and freedom!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are several options here, although I must emphasise that this is not going to be one of the more comfortable places out there! So we have a ruin that has sound and solid walls, floor and a roof- so it is dry and flat, but not insulated.
    Or you can put up a tent (we are also planning on getting a tipi/ bell tent/ dome in the near future), so depending on timing, it may already be here :) Either way I can provide a very comfy camping mattress and warm sleeping bag. I can provide one tent if you don't have one, and if you would prefer to camp than sleep in the ruin :)
    I do have a sheltered area with basic cooking facilities just outside the ruin, where we can hang out, have bonfires, and watch the stars.

    I love cooking, and eating good food, and will happily cook for you on the gas cooker or open fire. Before the vegetables that I will be planting are ready, I am buying most of my vegetables from my neighbour, who grows everything organic, so they are super fresh and local. There is a lot of fruit from the trees, and I will be cooking mostly vegetarian (although I don't mind if you want to get some meat occasionally to cook).
    Update: awesome 4m canvas bell tent is on the way! There is also the option to sleep in my van as I will probably sleep in the bell tent in summer :)
    Ps no WiFi, but ok 4g signal 👍

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As you can see, we are very close to the Vouga river (which looks more like a lake because it is damned), so you can swim there, and also in the beautiful stream with pools also just a couple of minutes walk from the land.
    Basically, if you love swimming, this place is paradise- two amazing and very different swimming spots less than 5 minutes walk away!
    Theres are awesome mountains around, and lots of nice areas for walking, and local markets, so together we can get to know this area :)
    If you don't mind roughing it a bit, or have a campervan, then I am open to hosting in February, but the weather can still be quite wet and cold then, so for more comfort maybe March onwards is better ;)
    If you have any questions- don't hesitate to reach out!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    yes, I love dogs!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. I am aware that I am not offering so much in the way of comforts, so more of a do as much as you feel (within reason) approach is better I feel.



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 999424794195