Help at our small farm and stay at a watermill in Ponte de Lima, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

624 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    55  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    931

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I spent 10 years working for a humanitarian aid organization in the Middle East, Eastern Europe, Asia and Africa. My son is now 5 years old and happy to help in any gardening task. For the last 2 years we have been living in our small farm in Ponte de Lima. During most of the year we have several building projects, gardening and forest maintenance. Help is welcome :-)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    During 10 years I lived in 3 different continents and experienced different cultures.
    I have an engineering background with computer networks and telecommunications and I like playing with sensors and microcontrollers, designing and building irrigation systems and automated chicken coops. I also have some experience in off-grid systems, construction and electricity. Every year we do different permaculture experiences and try to improve and adapt the techniques to our terrain.
    We frequently hire local carpenters and other skilled workers to assist in different projects and get to learn a lot of new skills from them.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Looking for volunteers with good physical condition, able to carry loaded wheelbarrows for example.
    We also accept someone with child care experience to spend some time of our 5 year old son and take care of the house.

    Here are some tasks we always need help with:
    - Clearing brush
    - Cutting old trees and firewood
    - a lot of digging and moving dirt
    - Fixing stone walls
    - Shopping, cooking and cleaning the house
    - Taking care of the vegetable garden and feeding animals (chicken, dog, cats)

    In the last years we finished a few projects:

    - Building an outdoor kitchen area with wood-fired oven. We're now having sourdough bread and roasted meals all the time!
    - Building a garden shed to store firewood, tools, kayaks and bikes
    - Installing outdoor lighting and cameras
    - Building a platform for a tent in the forest
    - transform a shipping container into a comfortable guest room/studio
    - Building a new chicken coop - DONE, needs painting

    Projects for this year/ongoing
    - Building a small house using wood frame structure
    - building composting toilet
    - building new wood shed
    - Putting up fences and building stone walls
    - Rebuilding an old stone dam that used to divert part of the stream to the mill
    - Rebuilding water wheel and mill mechanisms (once we find someone who can actually do it)
    - testing diy hydro generators

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private bedroom with one bed, shared bathroom. You can also camp in our tent or park your van in a private area of our garden. We provide three meals if you work 5 hours a day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You should bring working shoes and (old) clothes. We provide gloves and gum boots if needed.
    Laundry is done once a week.
    Our farm is mostly woodland and is a 4 minute drive or 20 minute walk from the historical town of Ponte de Lima where you can find many facilities, including library, big supermarkets, a lot of restaurants and cafes and a canoeing club.
    You can swim in the river that runs just in front of the house (it's a clean mountain river, quite cold though). A kayak is available too.
    Twice a month there is a huge open air market in Ponte de Lima.
    During the summer there are music festivals in Paredes de Coura and other nearby towns.

    We are 1 hour drive away from Porto. There are regular bus connections to the airport and to Viana do Castelo, Porto, Braga.

    One bicycle is available for guests. On days off, we sometimes go hiking, rock climbing, canoeing, mountain biking or canyoning around the area. If you have experience (and insurance) you are welcome to join!
    High speed fiber internet is available.

    We like vegetarian meals, but do eat meat or fish often and raise free range chicken for eggs.
    Smoking is not allowed inside and near the house . Wine or beer is ok in moderation.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is unlimited fiber connection with 50Mbps.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can provide a nice parking spot with electricity, access to an outdoor toilet and Wi-Fi !

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day (max 25 hours/week)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)





































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 253452573236