Help out with Puna Hawaii family life, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

467 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    97.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 38 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Aloha. We are family living in the Puna district of Hawaii. Evan is a Waldorf school teacher and Porter is an acupuncturist. Our 2 children are Eureka (7) and Bhumi (3)



    Our home is in the jungle but walking distance to the beach, on the grid and our volunteer would have their own room (technically a lanai with 2 solid and 2 screened in walls.) We would love a guest(or 2) to stay and enjoy our positive environment while helping out Porter & Evan with household chores, gardening/land work and kitchen. Usually we can sit down at the beginning of the week and come up with a schedule of times where we know we will be expecting your help and the rest of the time it’s up to you if you want to go to the beach hang with us or whatever. When we share meals together we expect that you hang around for 10 or 15 minutes to help with the dishes and clean up after we eat just as a part of being in the house.

    Porter used to be fluent in Italian although she is a little rusty now, Evan is fluent in Spanish and we would love to practice these languages. Our top preference is for an Italian speaker:) I also would be happy to have a Korean, Japanese or Mandarin speaker/ couple to learn some language from- generally we prioritize international travelers to be our guests.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We like to think of ourselves as a friendly family and would be happy to share our knowledge and passion for Hawaii and Hawaiian culture with our volunteer guests. Our home is walking distance to the beach and near an interesting part of Hawaii

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    It would be great to have 1 or 2 people that could help with meals, household tasks, yard work.
    I usually ask that you do a daily list of chores around the house at your own timing and then give a second list of other projects to do during the week when you like.
    I have been really grateful for the contributions that people have made so far and try to adjust my requests based on your strengths and skills. I like to say its the 'honor system' in terms of your hours- you keep track of yourself and we can always check in on how the workload is comparing to our expected contribution agreement.
    We would ask for 23 hours of your time a week and you can expect to have your all your meals here if you like. If you are staying a bit longer, have a good driving record and a license you can also borrow the car when available to cruise around the area (like as far as hilo or volcano and all around Puna) for a small exchange. If you want to eat food that's different than we are making then that would be your own purchase.
    I can be providing dinner and staples (always rice, beans, oatmeal and coffee available but you buy the snacks, fruits and other things for eating that you enjoy throughout the day.)
    For a single guest its nice to stay for a longer period and get to know the kids/area/ tasks well and really get in a flow. For 2 guests we usually do shorter duration stays (like 3 -4weeks) since the house can feel a bit full with 6 people after a while. But it all depends on the person/season/ situation. Reach out if you are curious.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would love to practice Italian and would be happy for my young children to hear other languages as well

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our house is medium size and our visitors sometimes call it a "tree house" with the jungle all around.

    Downstairs there is the bathroom and outdoor shower, and two large rooms. One we use for our bedroom. The second room is a large shady room that acts as an acupuncture clinic/ office and chill space (off hours) for the workawayers whose room is on the lanai off the office. We have grid electricity and rainwater catchment.



    For food we would plan to have one meal a day that is planned shared that we eat together (most often dinner.) We like to eat things like quiche, hearty soups, taro, homemade pizza, spinach dishes, burritos, salads etc. We try to eat as much local fresh produce as we can and mostly only buy organic and natural groceries. We are vegetarian bur do eat eggs and cheese. If you really need to eat meat then you could take yourself to a restaurant and get some but we don't do meat in the house. If you are gluten free that would be fine for some meals but there are times we bake bread/ eat pasta or whatever and you may want your own alternatives.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our area is so beautiful! We are in the district of Puna on the Big Island of Hawaii in the Kalapana area. This side of the island is rainy and our coastline is black lava- so no white sand beaches or hotels. From our house one can walk to the black sand beach. There are some nice warm ocean pools down the road as well.



    Our home is in a sweet neighborhood but there are no stores or commerce nearby and the town with stores is 15 minutes away by car so it is good to be comfortable with going to the store only a few times a week. This is a jungley place, which means we are close to nature- a definite plus but it is best to be comfortable with the possibility of cock roaches, ants, little lizards, coqui frogs and random critters mostly outside but sometimes inside as well.

    We like to go to the beach and swim but we tend to go in the morning or afternoon and avoid full on sunning.

    It's quiet in the evenings and we are just home and kicking it a lot of the time.

    We don't smoke and the way the air here is thick and the windows are only screens it wouldn't work to have a smoker in the house.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The internet connection here works pretty well for regular internet stuff . There is a desk by the room for the workawayer.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    23

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 993254772796