Urban Homestead in Greenville SC, US

Country

Estados Unidos

107 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi! My name is Beth. My partner Clay and I used to travel, learn, work and play all over the U.S.... until we decided to buy a home. After searching high and low we settled on a mill house built in 1902 here in gorgeous Greenville, SC. With our fixer-upper house and urban lot we are realizing our dreams of creating a vibrant home and permaculture-centric urban homestead. We keep chickens and meat rabbits and are building a vibrant annual and perennial garden to provide food and medicine. Greenville, nestled in the foothills of the rolling SC mountains, is probably the best small city to experience all the best things the southeast has to offer. We are located smack in the middle of the growing arts district, a leisurely stroll from the hundreds of amazing downtown restaurants and shops. It's less than an hours drive to no less than SIX amazing state parks and wilderness areas! If you want to see a great example of a southern city with soul, Greenville is the place to visit. We would love to show you around!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is an amazing opportunity for someone who wants to learn, firsthand, about an array of topics such as:

    + PERMACULTURE DESIGN. i have apprenticed under several permaculture masters and you will be helping install my version of an urban permaculture design.
    + NUTRITION. When not working full time to restore and old house and build a garden, i am a nutritional healing consultant and would be happy to help educate you if you are curious about the topic. i specialize in autoimmune illness.
    + FERMENTATION. fermented food is a pillar of our diet. ever wanted to learn to make kraut, kimchi, kefir, kombucha, occasional sourdough, yogurt, sour cream or pickles?
    + ANIMAL BREEDING AND HUSBANDRY. Chicken and rabbit breeding and husbandry is another topic to explore.
    + PROCESSING MEAT. We raise meat rabbits and we humanely harvest and process our meat.
    + WILD FOOD AND MEDICINE. If you are interested in wildcrafting or mushroom collecting here in the southern Appalachians, that is a passion i love to share with others.
    + BASIC TOOL USE. I can also teach you to use basic tools if you are unfamiliar.
    + COOKING delicious food with whole, healthy ingredients. Creative and tasty ways to eliminate grains and sugar are my specialty!
    + Additionally, you will have access to my small but extremely useful print library. i welcome you to read about topics from permaculture to tree I.D. to cob building to animal husbandry to phytotherapy.
    Greenville is an amazing place steeped in history. If you want to experience some southern hospitality with a modern twist this is the place to be.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are open to a broad spectrum of people who may want to work-trade and welcome people from all walks of life. our only requirements are:
    - you can lift at least 50 lbs
    - you have common sense
    - you are open- minded and ready to help out
    - you are able to communicate in a mature manner
    we are open to short or long term stays. on any given day, you could be clearing a garden bed, building a sheet mulch, helping with seeding/ planting, caring for chickens, caring for rabbits, forging/ wildcrafting, cooking, building a structure, sanding a floor, scraping paint, or helping with food prep. The work you do will be in part dictated by your interests and skill set. Don't know how to do any of those things? No problem! A willing pair of hands is all you need to be helpful and have a good time. We are happy to exchange room and board for 25 hours of your work per week. Some people may not be a good fit. if you are phobic of dirt, averse to summer heat or have a hard time with basic respect and communication, you may want to pass us over. We live simple, low impact lifestyles and seek others with that mentality. PROJECTS PLANNED FOR THE 2017 SEASON:
    + building a micro gray-water pond and system
    + building a mobile chicken tractor for the flock
    + painting the exterior of our home
    + installing tile on walls and countertops in kitchen
    + finishing interior walls and floors
    + clearing brush, sheet mulching beds
    + annual and perennial planting
    + rabbit processing and pelt tanning
    + tons and tons of wildcrafting
    + fencing

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are offering a private space in the form of our tiny-house-gypsy-wagon that we built and lived in before buying our house. It is small, simple, and comfortable. It is a 'dry cabin' style accommodation with kitchen and bathroom access in our house. We eat very minimal processed foods and while we are not producing much of it ourselves yet, we eat home cooked clean whole foods and will provide you with the same. You will be expected to cook some meals for yourself. We are flexible with dietary preferences and can take reasonable grocery requests. Vegetarians and vegans are welcome.
    We are flexible on length of stay.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We can provide pick up and drop off to and from train/ bus station or airport. If you do not have a vehicle that is no problem (i traveled the country with no car for years). We are in an eminently bikeable area and about a 30-minute walk from downtown. We are within a 5 minute walk to two city bus stops, as well as a coffee shop, three convenience stores, two restaurants and two bike shops. We would be happy to show you around town. There is a gorgeous park downtown that features a waterfall and there are local events all year round. You will have access to our SC park pass (free admission to all state parks) as well as a whole foods 20% discount for any purchases you wish to make there.
    We do expect volunteers to be open to feedback and willing to communicate. We expect volunteers to be able to follow simple house rules and respect the space and belongings of others. We are reasonable and flexible, so just ask! I have worked in work-trade situations that were fantastic, i have worked in some that were terrible. Armed with those experiences we strive to create a happy and productive space for everyone!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 985741715936