Help us develop our off-grid, organic subsistence farm in Kaeo, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

34 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are setting up our off-grid subsistence farm. We farm organically using a mixture of alternative farming and gardening methods. We are currently building our house ourselves and building vegetable gardens, farm fences, planting fruit and nut trees as well as ornamental trees, landscaping, clearing pastures, general maintenance, etc. We currently milk our goats and make yoghurt and cheese and will be milking our sheep soon too.
    We are a couple (Steph and Carsten) with a young daughter (Willow). We have a dog, 2 cats, chickens, ducks, doves, goats, sheep, a pony and a donkey.
    My father also lives on the property when he isn't travelling overseas so often you will be helping him, or my husband, or will be instructed with jobs to do on your own around the farm.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In exchange for your hard work you will be fed well, with healthy wholesome vegetarian food, and have a beautiful farm experience in one of New Zealand's most popular holiday destinations. We are 10 minutes from historic Mangonui, 50 minutes to the beautiful Bay of Islands, and only a 2 hour drive to the top of the North Island, where the Pacific Ocean and the Tasman Sea meet.
    We are a bilingual (German and English), multicultural family, from New Zealand, Germany and Canada, and are all well travelled.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Ideally we would like travelers who can stay a week or longer but we will also take shorter stays if you sound like the right fit. You will be expected to work 25 hours per week, usually we encourage 5 hours per day with 2 days off but you can choose to fit in your 25 hours as you please, as long as it fits in with us too.
    If you have experience with using a chainsaw/brush cutter, wire fencing, gardening, farm maintenance, and can do labour intensive work (like clearing felled trees and stacking branches on piles, carrying rocks for stone walls, etc), we would be particularly interested in hearing from you. However heavy labouring and farm experience is not essential as long as you are a keen worker and willing to learn new things and enjoy working outdoors :-)

    Our young daughter has cerebral palsy, so if you have experience with nursing, carer roles or physical therapy then there may be some opportunies to help with that also.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in a caravan which is essentially your bedroom and living area. Shower and toilet are separate and shared with your hosts. Please note these are very basic facilities as we are in the process of building our house. The shower is in a shed and the toilet is a long-drop.
    We can accommodate up to two travellers, though you will be living in a caravan together so probably best suited to a couple or very good friends. Single travellers also welcome.
    You have your own breakfast and lunch making facilities (food provided) in your caravan and you will eat dinner with us (except on the occasion when we are home late from appointments for our daughter).
    If you like to snack between meals please bring these with you. We eat mainly vegetarian and are happy to cater to vegetarian/vegan/gluten free diets.

    We have a young daughter so after dinner is quiet family time for us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Please note there is no public transport in our area so if you want to be independent you will need your own vehicle. Otherwise we can pick up and drop off at Kerikeri at the start and end of your stay.
    We do not have wifi so unless you have data on your mobile phone, there is no internet here. There is a cafe 10 minutes away in Mangonui with free wifi and a library in Kaeo (15 mins away) with free computer and internet usage.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 982674849485