Help build gardens and a wood-framed home in Campeche, Mexico

Country

México

new host  

3 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/10/2021

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, I'm Damien. I live in S.F. de Campeche with my wife and two daughter's aged 2 and 0. We were given some land by my in-laws and we are planning on building a bigger home for ourselves situated overlooking the hills in a farming community in San Agustín ola a few kilometers outside of Chiná Campeche. Help will start after hurricane season ends in November 2021. I have personal experience as a workaway and I know what kind of help we will be needing. We are mainly interested in skilled labor ie carpenters, masons, landscapers, plumbers and electricians. Our new home will have hot and cold running potable water which is a first in the area. Nearly 2 acres of gardens, stables, professional kitchen, solar panels and much more. I'm a retired chef from Boston Massachusetts and my wife is a local economist. We are open to a fair work exchange. Room and board will be provided in exchange for 25 hours of work a week. No more. There are many wonderful cultural sites around us and you will be highly encouraged to get out to explore and learn about Campeche and Mexico.
    We are going to be building on our hectare of land that overlooks a tiny town. The area is rich in wildlife- there are rabbits and hawks, large iguanas and parrots, snakes and exotic spiders. The beauty it's truly spectacular. We are a couple hours from the nearest cenotes and a few minutes from the warm waters of the Gulf.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will be farming a local species of stingless bees that have a 3000 year history with Mayans living in this part of Mexico. I make mead from this and share it with interested friends and family.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are planning on building a wood framed home which is basically unheard of here. People with skills and artistic intuition will be invaluable to our mission.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Japonés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I'm a native English speaker who is intermediate in Spanish and beginner in Japanese. My wife is beginner in English and native in Spanish.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    there is a queen sized bed next door at my in-laws place that is readily available but you are also welcome to the two hammocks in our living room too. I make all meals at home. I have a decades long cooking history with experiences from Japan , Italy, Iraq and many other countries. Local cuisine is regularly on the menu with handmade tortillas, cochinita, frijoles con puerco, pizza, and sushi making regular appearances. Accommodations are typical for the area. Hammocks, cold showers, internet are readily available.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Transportation to and from work site will be provided as well as frequent trips to get supplies in the city. We are a young family with 2 children under 3 years old so we rise with the sun and fall asleep not long after it sets. We prefer to get most work done early before the heat melts away any hope of getting things done.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 981664756718