Help me with some gardening and weeding of my vegetable garden and flower beds in Vermont, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

9 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/08/2019

Contacto Registro
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Come experience life out in the country on the western edge of Vermont's Northeast Kingdom and help a 60 something woman care for her animals and garden. After working in big cities on three continents, I've settled on 51 beautiful acres (about 20 hectares) of forest, fields and wetlands with one dog, 6 chickens, 3 goats and a view of the mountains. I still work part-time advising clients on electric power projects (mostly renewable energy) in emerging market countries and do a lot of volunteer work. I am hoping to have an abundant organic vegetable garden and expand my perennial flower beds this summer and I know that I will need help. I can also use help sorting out clutter, if your so inclined. If you love the outdoors, there are many opportunities for swimming, kayaking and biking and hiking is as close as right out the door. If you're a foodie, we're near excellent micro breweries, cheese producers and restaurants.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Otra
    Ayuda con animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This part of Vermont is an interesting mix of people whose families have lived here for generations, younger people who are developing sustainable agricultural based businesses and artists and artisans who draw on the beauty and quiet of our mountains and valleys as well as people like me who visited and fell in love with the place. There is an abundance of music and theater in the area. Spending time here a visitor can learn that living a rural life connected to the seasons doesn't mean forsaking art. I like sharing the experiences that I've had living in three different countries (the US, UK and Australia) and working and traveling in over 40 countries. While not formally trained as a chef, I'm told that I'm a very good cook and I'm happy to share what I know. I knit and can teach you, if you'd like.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I'm looking for 3-5 hours per day, 5 days per week, of help with planting and weeding in the vegetable garden and in existing and new flower beds as well as pruning some bushes and apple trees. I could also use help tending to the chickens and goats and my dog is always happy to go for an extra walk. I have a geodesic dome coop for the chickens that needs repair. If I get organized enough, I would like help sorting through and clearing out my basement.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, French and some Hebrew

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have a fairly large house and you would be welcome to share the great room and kitchen, den (with a piano), dining room and screened porch on the ground floor of the house. You would have your own private bedroom and bathroom (toilet, sink and bathtub with a shower) on the second floor of the house (my bedroom and office are on the ground floor). I have wifi and satellite tv. Mobile phone service here is pretty good. I will have on hand the types of foods that you like for breakfast and lunch (there will always be plenty of eggs and veggies) and on some days we may eat those meals together and on others, we may fix our own meals. On most days, I will make dinner (I always welcome help) and we'd usually eat dinner together. I can accommodate vegetarian meals and I don't have pork and shellfish in my house. I try to only use free range, pasture raised meat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    On your time off, you're welcome to use my bike and kayak and I can usually take you into town (it's about a 3.5 mile walk) or to a beautiful lake where you can swim or kayak. There is no public transportation here so if you have a vehicle that's a help. I'm happy to go on some drives and if you have a valid license, you can borrow my car. Also, I go into Stowe (a town with lots of galleries, restaurants, biking trails, zip line, swimming holes and more) at least once or twice a week and happy to give you a ride when I go. I'm pretty flexible in terms of my time and don't have much of a fixed schedule. My home is clean, but not the most organized place. I would expect someone living in my home to be considerate and kind and generally clean up after themselves.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 981477124884