Help village children practice speaking English near Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

99 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/02/2020

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there!! I am Heenkenda. I am from Sri Lanka, country of the tea and elephants. Anuradhapura is my home town, right now I live in the village near - Gewalseeya.
    I have the family with one son. My wife doesn't have a job. I work in the hotel for sixteen years and in addition to that I teach children in the villages around English. I do this as a volunteer.
    There is a reason why I help to those children. They are taught English at the school but they can't speak even a word of the English. I had the same problem before I went to work to the hotel. Now I can speak and that's the reason why I want to help these children to improve their speaking ability.
    In Sri Lanka everybody should learn English, because without good knowledge of this language it is nearly impossible to study at the university and later to get a great job.
    There are about 50 children in my English classes. It is very difficult task to teach them and to do my job. But I'll do it anyway. In the future I want to teach more kids in the other villages in the area. This will help to bring them a bright future.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en una granja
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As a volunteer you can learn about our culture and lifestyle from the local people. In our village we live traditional style of life. We cook traditional dishes and we have our traditional Sri Lankan rituals. You can also visit our Buddhist temple, which is 10 minutes of the walking from my home. My neighbors are every time curious about foreigners, they like to talk even few words in the English or Sinhalese. Their smile will definitely make happy.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As the volunteer you have to help to the children with the practising of the English. My expectations from you are to prepare some kind of the programme with the focus on the practical knowledge of the English. It will be a great help to improve their speaking ability. Also it will be worthy for my son and for my neighbors to speak with you and practise. We are here as a big community and visiting each other all the time. You can expect classes for three and half hours, five days per week. Plus your preparation for the classes can take one to one and half hour per day. So together maximum around five hours per day.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have a small house in the countryside. In this house we have two bedrooms, outside bathroom and small veranda. I'm able to provide you meals and the room totally free of charge. I'm sure that you can have unforgateble experience here with me, my family and with my neighbors.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Gewalseeya, my village, which is about 13 kilometres away from Anuradhapura has around 500 hundred habitants. It took just 20 minutes by bus to Anuradhapura. In your free time you can go there and visit ancient ruins. And while you will be in my house you can explore area around on our bicycle. There is a lot of nice nature around.
    We don't have WiFi here, but you can buy simcard for 120 rupies (0,80 US dollars) with 1,5 GB of the data. We have high speed internet, which works without a big problems.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 958628239468