Come, camp and help with some garden projects at the beautiful Moulin des Forges, France



7 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hi. We are Colin and Christina, a friendly and fun English couple who used to work for the NHS but are now renovating a 4 acre Mill complex in the beautiful Creuse. We moved to France in 2019. We have a dog called Perle, 2 cats Minnie and Mia and also ducks. The site had been empty for at least 7 years and the wildlife had taken over.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are integrating ourselves to be part of our village and love to socialise with our French neighbours and friends, this is really helping us with our learning of the French language and we would like to involve into our social life any workaways that visit, it is also a great way to learn about the French culture and in return we help with English language and customs, we would be happy to help anyone that stays with us to help out with the English language and culture. We have chickens and ducks and we would teach about these, as well as teaching about any of the trades that we do when renovating. We are also interested in sharing ideas about vegetable gardens, looking at ways to live in a more environmentally friendly way in particular we are looking into ways of being able to use the water around the Mill for energy to power the Mill in the future . We often go to the lakes (the area is famous for its 3 lakes) we would welcome workaways to come with us, we have a paddle board we use for exploring.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We would like to have some help with the clearing and maintenance of the land around us, we are lucky to be on 4 acres of woodlands with ponds, lakes and streams.

    We have many trees that need chopping down or trimmed. Wood then needs to be stored for the log burners. Lots of land that needs strimming, grass always needs cutting, streams that need clearing of twigs and digging down to let the water flow.

    We also need help with putting down decking for glamping tents, we have a chalet by the lake we need to renovate, there is painting internally and externally, plumbing, moving furniture, we also have the Mills original bread oven that we need help with to renovate, we want to set up an area for chickens and a vegetable plot so you name it there is much to help us with.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Bring your own tent or campervan, we have a fully equipped campers kitchen (freezer, washing machine, cooker, sink , microwave, crockery ) as well as a dedicated campers bathroom. We also have electrical points. On site we have a games room (snooker table, darts board) and also a heated swimming pool which is under construction but once finished you would be welcome to use. . You will need to shop for your own food but we would be happy for workaways to join us for 2 evening meals a week or be part of a bbq/ meal we have with friends .

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Transport would be needed as we are in a rural location, the local village is approximately 2km and has a shop, bar and tabac. Gueret town with many shops is 34km or La Chatre is 26km. Both towns have a variety of supermarkets.

    Nearby there is a teleski, golf course. We are located in the region of the 3 lakes, all with beaches, great for swimming or fishing. Great location for bike rides, plenty of lovely countryside to see.

    We have a nice circle of friends English, French and Dutch that are often over for drinks and bbqs. We often go to the lakes with them for picnics and we would be happy for any workaway to join us.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    max 15 hours a week with 2 days off - no meals

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 949297742649