1 / 5
new host  

Help with eco projects on our homestead in Tomiño, Galicia, Spain

  • 12 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 12 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Alex and Carven. We spent many years on the road learning from projects all around the world and have finally found our own sweet corner in southern Galicia. Alex is Galician from Vigo and Carven is from Sydney, Australia- we lived here and there and would consider ourselves to be open minded people and flexible people. There's also a small baby, she's 4.5 months old and takes a lot of time and energy.

    There are two homesteads, one that needs to be completely restored and the other that is already livable. We aren't in any rush. At the moment we are designing the water filtration system, the roof needs gutters and there are two downstairs spaces that need to be fixed up. The longer house is another project for further down the track.

    We have finally moved in as of March 2024 and this year would like to get going an organic garden, there are some horses which come to graze when the grass is long as the property is 5500m2 and quite big. They belong to the town vet and mentioned that we could always take them for a ride though we haven't yet :D
    Maybe build a geodome greenhouse and a dry toilet for outside use.

    We are starting with small steps going at a steady pace and hope to live more and more sustainably.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will be happy to teach about gardening as we have also gathered a lot of experience from other hosts over the years. And we live in a very rustic and typical Galician area, our neighbours are very friendly and the town is very close with plenty to do. We also speak several languages and would be happy to help with that too.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking to get the garden started now in Spring and general day to day stuff, some of which can be quite physical but definitely rewarding. We would like to plant trees, do some selective clearing of the forest we are trying to nurture on one end of the plot.
    There needs to be some repairs on the house and fixing up two spaces down stairs which we call the bodega and the workshop, we are trying to use bioconstruction or sustainable materials where we can.

    We also have a plan to make a dry toilet outside and a dome for a greenhouse.

    A typical day would start at 9, breakfast at your own time as we wake up at different times. A break around 11 - 11:30 for morning tea or coffee and then a few more hours until lunch around 2pm. Free time after lunch to take the bikes for a ride to the river, go to town for a walk, or we could go together for a walk as we are surrounded by nature and lots of animals around like horses, cows, sheep and goats. Whatever you want! Even just chilling in the hammock and enjoying the quiet.

    On the odd day there might be an extra hour of doing some more work if required in the afternoon. The two days of rest are not always weekends, the market day here in Tomiño is on a Wednesday for example and it also depends on the day you arrive. We don't have regular Mon- Fri jobs so the week is more flexible for us.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Galician: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Chino (mandarín): Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have just renovated a small two bedroom house and the spare room for the baby is available for a volunteer. Though preferably we would prefer people who are tent travelling and we have two available as well for you to use with a blow up mattress inside. There is also plenty of space for caravans or vans that are self equipped are also very welcome if you would prefer some privacy. The house is quite small and the baby is still sleeping irregularly.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We can be reached by public transport from Vigo, A Guarda or Tui. Vigo is the biggest town and about three buses come daily. From there its a 2km walk to the property.
    If coming from Oporto, there are trains or buses to Vilanova de Cerveira or Valenca do Minho, both are about 12kms away.

    The council here provides e bikes that could be used to explore many beautiful villages along the Portuguese and Galician side of the river Miño. We also have two normal bikes you can borrow. Vilanova de Cerveira has their market day on Saturday, Tuy, A Guarda are nearby beautiful towns for visiting and a variant of the Camino actually passes through here too.
    We are fifteen minutes walk from Tomiño where there are plenty of supplies, shops, markets on Wednesday. And many walks around the surrounding area. It is a quiet place, not too far from civilisation.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is plenty of space for a caravan to park and have a bit of privacy. That would actually be preferred at the moment as the house is quite small and the baby usually sleeps pretty well but not every night.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    About five hours a day for five days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 937571876443

Fotos

Comentarios

Looking for a English speaker to play with our children in Jerez de la Frontera, Spain
We are a little community of people living in a self-made house in the middle of the forest, Catalan Pyrenees, Spain