Help with a local community gardening project and stay in our welcoming home in Wrexham, Wales, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

413 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    29  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    1850

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Myself (Katherine from Cymru) and partner Brian (from Catalonia and living here for over five years now) are welcoming in workawayers for 2 hours a day help in exchange for all bills (gas, water, electric, wifi, basic toiletries) and accommodation.

    We do this mostly to assist travellers to have somewhere friendly and comfortable, safe and warm to stay - and for us to have that extra assistance that can be so beneficial. Katherine has limited abilities due to a neurological health condition and Brian works so much it's great to have great assistance with home, garden as well as volunteering for local community project that we are involved with. Myself and Brian work with Complementary Healthcare at home and mainstream care for the NHS.

    We live in a small house on the outskirts of Wrexham town centre so almost everything is close by - the shops, the cinema and also local nature is close too. The community here is quite lovely, with a blossoming music scene and art scene if you know where to look, and am happy to share these with you.

    Normally we host just about 2 weeks at a time, though can do less easily enough, and more may be possible on request.

    If this sounds good to you, your availability matches on our calendar and you would like to request a place, please could you answer the following questions? It will take you a little extra time now I know but it could save time in the long run.

    1. What attracts you to this workaway?

    2. In what ways would you most like to help?

    3a. What do you think about the helping just 2hrs a day, 5-6 days a week for bills and accommodation and so providing your own food?
    ((We think that is fair if you consider how much it would be to pay for accommodation, electric, gas-which is so high at the moment!), toilet roll, washing powder, hand wash, washing up liquid, council tax etc. So if you do too, please feel welcome to apply It's not about money of course, your assistance is beyond value and I hope our welcoming home is too))

    3b. Are you ok to tidy up after yourself as well as make your own food? We only ask as not everyone has done this and have added to our already overloaded workload?

    4a. Are you ok to only bring food products in the home that are free from animal products? (i.e. vegan). (important due to allergies and ethics** - eat what you like outside the home of course)

    4b. What is your understanding of vegan? We ask as some people need this explaining, others already know.

    5. Are you a smoker or a non-smoker. Do you ever smoke? We ask due to allergies.

    6. Are you able to be on your own, be self-motivated and self-disciplined in doing so and see what needs to be done and do it or do you need lots of supervision and guidance?

    7. Are you ok if we are too busy to spend much time with you? Or do you need people that you can spend lots of time with? While ideally we would spend more with you, we have so much work on at the moment it's not too likely

    8. Is there anything we can do to make the experience work well for you?



    .......

    The two hours a day option also gives you the opportunity to explore the area a bit more and even find an additional paid job if you wanted. We think it's a fair deal, if you do too and like what we offer, please apply with the answers to those questions :)

    If you wish to learn about the ethics of being vegan, I haven't watched them but I hear films 'Earthlings', 'Forks over knives' 'Farm to Fridge' and Cowspiracy' are good. I have watched 'Game Changers' which I enjoyed. Again, what you eat outside the home won't be judged, but there is a need to respect this little vegan haven in what currently is mostly a non vegan world.

    We can't accept pets sorry due to allergies, there are some lovely wild animals in the little garden though!

    There's zero curfew, though being fairly quiet after 10pm/10.30pm is great due to early starts working for the NHS. You will be most welcomed and encouraged to feel at home. You will have your own room. Sometimes the kitchen will be inaccessible when we have clients at home but mostly is available. For 5 hours or so of the week, we ask you not to use the wifi, but that's only when Katherine is teaching online. All the other hours are fine.

    It's a small home, small garden with a big welcome!

    Lots of places are easily accessible on foot. Cinema, art gallery is about 10-15 minutes walk, streams and trees about 10-15 minutes walk, supermarkets 2-5 minutes walk.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I think our references on this site give some ideas - it depends on your interests and how much you would like to do, and what we are doing when you visit.

    Previous workawayers have spoken about improving their english skills, experiencing community art, music, nature, meeting and working with and for local community etc.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Tasks that are so good to have help with include:
    Assisting keep and make the house and garden be in beautiful shape
    Cleaning and tidying kitchen, living area and the rest of the house. We both love a clean home.B and bobs to do around the house
    Gardening
    Growing food with us (weeding, sowing, planting, mulching etc)
    Decluttering
    and similar tasks.
    Could also be:
    Assisting with a local community gardening project.
    Preparing food/cooking,

    When you apply, it would be great if you could share which of these you are happy to do.

    This place would suit most someone who is:
    Self-motivated, self-disciplined
    Can help independently a lot
    Is happy being on their own (as well as with others, but will be often be on your own)
    Can just see what needs doing and just do it as well as having a little guidance on what needs doing.

    Times can be flexible or scheduled.
    From lots of experiences of ourselves and others, we do ask that each day that you work without us, for you to record on a shared document the times worked, and what was done. Then everyone can feel that this experience is fair and valued.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Catalan: Fluido
    Welsh: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The accommodation is a little room in our fairly small house that is on the outskirts of the town centre.

    You are very welcome to make yourself at home. Best compliment is for you to do so.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are so many beautiful places to see Erddig, Bersham, Nant Mill, Minera mountain, Llangollen, Pontcysllte Aquaduct, Horseshoe Pass, Ty Mawr, Alyn Waters with buses to many of these places.

    Undegun and Ty Pawb are great art galleries with great events. Live Rooms also have some great gigs.

    Wrexham Community Choir every Tuesday in term time is great.

    There are some great live music gigs that happen too in Wrecsam that you may enjoy.

    The local college do free english lessons in term time which is great. The university also do free Cymraeg lessons.

    Liverpool, Manchester and Snowdonia are quite close too to visit.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Great internet connection. The only 2 hours a day could be perfect for digital nomads :) would need to be quiet at certain hours of the day, that's all.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is not a lot of room, street parking mostly but often there is room :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2 hours a day for free accommodation, gas, water, electric, internet etc

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)




















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 918936367313