Busy family home in the heart of Ullapool village, west coast of Scotland, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

513 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    27  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    532

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    PLEASE NOTE: We hosted a lot of workaways before the pandemic, and we had a lot of fun doing so! But the pandemic shut all of that down and we haven't hosted anyone since it all began. We now feel ready to start hosting again, but we'd like whoever comes to be aware that this is going to take a wee bit of adjustment and to be ready to be patient about that!

    We're looking for help tidying the garden before winter, painting the fence, cleaning the hen run...that sort of stuff. We'd also really like some help decorating one of the kids rooms and doing a bit of general cleaning about the place.

    Our organic garden has raised vegetable beds, flower beds, fruit trees, chickens, three extremely friendly cats and a very welcoming lurcher dog called Polly. We have two teenaged daughters and our life pretty much revolves around the small local kids' marine conservation charity we run. We aren't looking for help with the charity as such, but there's always a lot of interesting sea stuff happening that you might like to get involved in, if you like that sort of thing! It sits in the heart of Wester Ross Marine protected area and the wildlife we've been seeing this summer has been phenomenal: dolphins, sea eagles, minke whales, sun fish...even a humpback whale!

    We’re looking for folk to come and join in with the work and the play that happens in and around our home. The children are old enough to be fairly independent – they don’t need supervision - we don’t need an au pair. We’re looking for interesting international people to engage and befriend them and teach them about life in other countries – how to see the world in a different light, and how to travel successfully themselves when the time comes.

    WHAT WE OFFER:
    The accommodation we have to offer Workaways in the summer is a small, prettily painted, 2 berth caravan in the garden (see pics.) We offer one less hour of work per day if Workaways prefer to self-cater. As the gardening and fishing seasons progress, we can provide some free fresh herbs, fruit, vegetables and fish.

    I have many years experience teaching English as a Foreign Language to adults - so if you want to work on your language skills, i am happy (and qualified! :) ) to help with that... I speak clearly, with an English/BBC accent, so you don't need to worry about not being able to understand the Scottish accent. However, we do need people who speak enough English to understand instructions about what needs to be done in the garden, or whatever else is happening.
    Please don't apply if you have very low level English - consider, rather, being one of the students for the trainee teachers here:

    Ullapool sits on the shores of the Wester Ross Marine Protected Area. It is small and pretty, with truly amazing wildlife and scenery. Although its permanent population numbers less than 2000, during tourist season it gets phenomenally busy, especially with the development of the NC500.
    We are home to the only Tesco (supermarket) for many miles in any direction…so everyone passing by tends to stop here. As well as numerous other shops it has galleries, a theatre, library, sailing club, restaurants, hill walking, lots of festivals, a very vibrant traditional and contemporary music scene and a spectacular choice of pubs all within ten minutes of our garden gate.
    Ullapool is the gateway to the Outer Hebrides, with the Stornoway ferry departing twice daily and bus connections from Inverness, as well as the spectacular coastline and more remote areas to the North and South. All of this makes it a brilliant Workaway destination, as you can venture out on foot and find all sorts of adventures within minutes of our front door.
    We offer a great way to have an easy, independent and fun travelling experiences!

    As a destination, Ullapool has a lot to offer and we are delighted to share it with people. Wherever possible, we are happy to try and assist you to get as much as possible out of your experience here, whatever that means for you specifically. If you like hillwalking, we can take you to the start of the trail, if you like photography, we are happy to arrange sunset viewing from the best lighthouse… Just let us know, and we’ll try to make it happen.

    We are not smokers, but we have no problem with other people smoking (outside.)

    We have good links with other hosts and projects in the region, so (if you like) we may be able to find you a space somewhere else if we can't accommodate you ourselves.

    (Please note: We do ask that Workaways take responsibility for getting themselves to Ullapool. Please be sure you have worked out your travel details (especially Ullapool bus times and whether they fit with flight/train times into Inverness) before committing to a start date.)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I spent many years teaching English as a foreign language to adults. I can offer support if you hope to improve your English.

    My daughters speak Gaelic and are usually keen to share their knowledge of local Gaelic music, language and song.

    We have access to some of the best natural ingredients in the country up here from the sea and the garden.

    Ullapool is a really popular tourist destination. Everything you need is in walking distance of this house - although we may look remote on the map, the transport links are excellent, so it makes a great base for exploring the rest of the coast.

    We fun, friendly and keen to make new friends around the world.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    WHAT WE'RE LOOKING FOR:
    We are looking for positive, capable, self-motivated people, who can see for themselves what needs doing (gardening, cleaning, painting, engaging with children, beach cleaning and anything else that that our home throws up!) and do it efficiently and independently.

    People who love and respect the marine environment, and/or who can bring music, song and circus skills are always extra-welcome, but we are open to everyone - some of our most successful hosting experiences have been with Workaways with aptitudes like climbing (we have a fantastic new wall in the village,) reiki massage, yoga teaching and photography. (Did we mention music? :) We are keen for folk that can come and teach the kids guitar and/or inspire them to play their oboe, piano, ukelele, guitar and violin for fun more often...having new and interesting people to play music with has really inspired them since we joined Workaway...)

    We invite you to become a part of our home, bringing whatever magic you can to the ever-changing, dynamic mix that is daily life.

    We’re looking for folk to come and join in with the work and the play. The children are aged 10, 13 and 15: old enough to be fairly independent – they don’t need supervision - we don’t need an au pair. We’re looking for interesting international people to engage and befriend them and teach them about life in other countries – how to see the world in a different light, and how to travel successfully themselves when the time comes.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Gaelic (Scottish): Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    2 berth, 4.2 meter caravan

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Ullapool has everything - and we are in the middle of pretty much all of it! :) We need your help about the place, for sure. But we will also do our absolute best to make sure you have as much fun as possible - we are proud of our wee place here and like it when people enjoy it!

    We have: Shops, markets, galleries, music, art, museum, bookshops, theatre, festivals, library, pharmacy, post office, tesco, fuel garage, pottery, bars, restaurants, take aways, butcher, baker, deli, gym, swimming pool, ferry terminal, hair dressers, beauty salon, camping, hiking, fishing, kayaking, sailing, golf and much, much more.


    Getting Around:
    Car, ferry, bus, bike...again, we have it all! :) There's usually a bike around the place you can borrow if you would like to. Ullapool is really compact, so everything is in walking distance.


    Bus Companies
    Citylink Coaches operate a bus service from Inverness to Ullapool. This runs in conjunction with the ferry service so times should be checked and tickets booked in advance.

    D & E coaches also operate a service from Inverness to Dingwall, through Strathpeffer to Ullapool and onwards north to Lochinver, Scourie and Durness (This also allows for bikes being taken on a trailer during summer months).

    Citylink operate from Glasgow/Edinburgh to Ullapool and onwards to Stornoway.

    Megabus also operate links throughout the UK to Inverness and Stagecoach operates the Jet Bus Service to Inverness Airport with up to a 30 minute service between the City of Inverness and the Airport.

    The Westerbus also operates from Inverness to Gairloch connecting with an Ullapool service at Braemore Junction on a Monday, Wednesday & Saturday.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have an outside bathroom and standard electric hook up facilities.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 6 days a week - very flexible






















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 735613541453