Help with boat repairs and maintenace for sailing experience in the Solent around Southampton UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

459 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    08/08/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi I am an English sailor and an English teacher by profession living in Southampton UK. I am married with 2 sons and a daughter .I love to play tennis, football and play the guitar. We live in in non-smoking house ( we don't have any pets or any particular dietary constraints) Southampton University is 3 minutes walk and then city centre is not far . My wife is also a English teacher so the volunteer will have access to two people who can help them improve their Language skills.

    My I recently raced my boat (a Sigma 36) in some offshore races including the Fasnet Race. The boat took a beating and we need to do some things to get it back into shape.

    What I am looking for is person or persons who is (are) fit and active and happy to work with their hands. No experience is necessary but should have good hand eye coordination and not be afraid to work with power tools. Also we are very happy to have couples.

    Aslo I am in the process of building a small building in my garden so far we have excavated the site and now need to lay the foundation and build a retiaining wall. So may need some hep with that. But sailing will be avaliable on the boat during the stay whaere helkp you are providing!!

    After that we will be builiding a small timber framed 2 story building. So lots of skills to learn!!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Will learn some basic boat building/maintenance skills have access to the delights of the south coast of the UK and will do some some off shore l sailing with an RYA qualified skipper

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am looking for someone who is practical and can help me work on a 36 foot sailing yacht
    We will be sanding, painting , some fiber glass work and some installation of various bits and pieces. The volunteer(s) can enjoy regular sailing on the boat also buiiding project in my garden so work will be a combination fo the above depending on where we are with the projects.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Own bedroom in our house

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I have 20 years of sailing experience and a yacht master qualification and the volunteer will be provided with full safety equipment and safety will be a priority when working on the boat and while sailing

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a the best internet connection available in the area but bear in mind it is the uk

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Parking and electricity could be provided

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Boat repairs, soem building work help around the house (max 25 hours)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (4.6)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 443715673714