Help me share my mandala weaving skills while living in the rich cultural area of Oaxaca, Mexico

Country

México

actualizado  

112 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Right now I have only one workawayer booked, probable for the last half of January. I also have a son visiting sometime in February, but the guest bedroom will still be available while he is here. I'm looking for help translating my instructions for weaving yarn mandalas from English into Spanish, as well as general help with companionship and cooking.
    *******************************

    Hello, my name is Jay, and I'm a 77 year old long time weaver of Ojos de Dios mandalas, and am well known amongst fellow yarn mandala weavers for introducing the modern version of this ancient art to Mexico and other places around the world. I also founded a popular facebook page devoted to the art.

    I've been less active weaving recently, but wish to get into teaching online, and am looking for apprentices to help with both internet teaching, and who wants to learn the weaving techniques themselves. I had apprentices when I lived in Asheville, North Carolina, who eventually took over my successful etsy shop. Also workawayers who simply want to cook meals and provide companionship are totally welcome to apply.

    I have many references via another platform, where I have hosted travelers from 39 different countries, and have received only positive references.

    I am a non-smoker, and have zero tolerance for marijuana smoking or other related drugs in my apartment. I drink the occasional beer, but tolerate only limited drinking.

    Eating a healthy diet is important to me, and I like to eat lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, and whole grains. My meals are mostly vegetarian, but at times I eat fish or chicken. I can not tolerate heavy starches or refined sugars: potatoes, wheat, white rice etc. Best for me is a high protein and whole grains with non-starchy vegetables. Most dairy is a problem, although I can eat simple cheeses. I walk most every day, and also do yoga and other workouts frequently. Sometimes though physical limitations put a serious halt to anything strenuous. Simple companionship is very meaningful to me.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Compañía para ancianos
    Enseñanza
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Oaxaca is a city and general area extremely rich in arts and culture, both ancient and modern. Also, you can learn from me, through learning the actual weaving of my Ojos de Dios yarn mandalas, a creative skill both meditative and delightful to give as gifts and possibly to sell as well.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Fluency in Spanish is greatly desirable, as my own Spanish is minimal, and being able to teach yarn mandala weaving to the Spanish speaking people of the world would be a great help. Also, helping me with learning Spanish would be very helpful. I want to create both recorded and in person online teaching of my mandala weaving skills, so internet skills are also very desirable. General help around the house, especially cooking, would be a great help. Meals here tend to be simple and vegetarian, but at times I eat considerable meat also. Often ready made foods from local vendors are also used, such as tamales or tacos.

    There is an opportunity here to learn both weaving of yarn mandalas and marketing them, as well as teaching others. I could use help with finding online students through social media.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I like English/Spanish language exchange.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I live in a very desirable part of Oaxaca City, namely, San Felipe de Agua, which, although now a tony suburb of Oaxaca, still has its own village and corn farming life. I'm smack dab in the middle, across from the town plaza and historical church, with shopping in the same block. It's a 15 minute easy bus ride to El Centro Oaxaca.

    This is a small apartment, but I sleep in the living room, so the one bedroom is for guests and workawayers. There is one bathroom to share connected to the bedroom. Water is limited, so we must always be very careful in conserving water.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There would definitely be much time available to explore Oaxaca and surrounding areas, and I'd be happy to show parts of Oaxaca rarely seen by quickly visiting tourists. Local bus system is very good, and runs very close to my apartment.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have dependable hi-speed internet, and there are many aspects of what I am looking for that can be done online, such as website help, and promoting my teaching mandala weaving online.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Not on the property of my apartment, but there is secure parking on the street right across from my apartment.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2 or 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 917883788746